cooking, Fashion, food

in which we cook a lot of food to take our mind off of politics #cooking #food

To say that there’s a lot going on in the world is an understatement, but sometimes it’s better to stop participating in the warring of our overlords and try to snatch a few moments of tranquility before they drag us into a fresh hell of accusation, inuendo and lies.

Ooops, don’t mind me.

I decided that while I was waiting for freelance work and doing chores, I would cook up dishes and fill up the freezer for when it gets super cold…or for when I get work and come home exhausted and don’t want to cook.

This was the day I made Jolloff, an African one-pot rice dish. I never tried it before, but at the end of the day, when it was done, I felt this becoming a menu staple candidate. It’s like the African version of jambalaya, which makes sense, right? I also did African Peanut Stew, the two smaller photos on top show the ingredients. It has yams and collard greens, ginger and delicious peanut butter. So no I know how to cook two African dishes and I’m a bit proud in addition to being able to look forward to gnoshing on the leftovers later.

I decided that I desperately needed French Onion Soup, because who doesn’t want soup that is always served with cheese? The worst part was stirring cut up onions for 45 minutes. The best part was eating the soup like a bog kid. I couldn’t find Gruyere in my neighborhood, so I used mozzarella. And being a cheeseaholic, I dropped little bits of cheese in the cup before pouring in the soup and then added a big chunk of cheese on top. Because cheese.

I made Chinese Takeout Style Spare Ribs which worked out so well that i ate all of them. I mean, I froze them? But little by little ate all of them. I marinaded the ribs all night, and then wrapped them in a foil pouch and backed that for three hours since I don’t own a grill, which the recipe called for. You open the pouch and then slather on more of the marinade and bake for another 10 minutes. They taste exactly like what comes from the takeout place, except you didn’t have to wait, staring out of the window cash in hand, waiting for them to arrive. I also chopped up some of the rib tips and made Egg Foo Yung, which was delicious. I mean, egg pancakes with gravy stuffed with roasted pork rib tips?  I made Chinese Dumplings, too…but it was such a massive operation that I just cooked and cooked and never took photos. They were delicious. The trick is a frying/steaming deal, it cooks the filling thoroughly and the outside was slightly crispy but soft. So good.

We still have a few weeks left before the current shenanigans end and new troubles assail us, but take comfort in your kitchen if you don’t have any other hobbies to take you off of social media and back into living and breathing. Take a break. WE can’t really do a thing until November 8th, anyway.

Take care of yourselves!

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

 

 

Leave a Reply

