beauty, beauty products, exercise, exercise gear, Fashion, health, sexy, skin care, skincare, weight, weight loss, weightloss

In which we talk about waist trainers and Ishga Active Cleansing Lotion #beauty #weightloss

New York has been engulfed in a grody heatwave for weeks and during that time life was nothing but a panting, sweaty mess. I made it out to the beach again, but by and large the fun gadabout summer that I had been planning was curtailed. I spent a lot of time just hanging out in the house with the air conditioner on full blast. People can bleat about climate change all they want, it’s not just what we’ve done to the atmosphere, it’s what the Earth does every so often…self-destruct.

Anyway, before people start thinking this is going to be a diatribe about the environment, it’s just another blog post about my ongoing struggle to be the best woman I can be. It’s just that this time, that involves a waist cincher.

After spending weeks binge watching TV and not really moving around, I went to my yearly checkup and the worst had happened. 20 pounds of the worst. Body acceptance is great until it’s your body that needs accepting. I felt like the time had come to ask for a lifeline. Enter, the Waist Trainer Cincher (control underbust shaper corset shapewear body tummy sport) which I bought on Ebay for $14 plus shipping. It came within days, as they promised, in a snazzy silver envelope. I had it on five minutes after I got back in my apartment. It was instant love.

You wrap the belt around your waist, closing it with the huge velcro tabs. The you pull the elastic outer straps around and your locked into curvaceous. It didn’t hurt, but you are compressed. I’m guessing that the compression helps you lose weight because you can’t stuff your face while you’re wearing it, and once you put it on you don’t want to take it off. The waist trainer holds in the fat that’s holding you down, and reinforces your spine so you stand up straighter. It’s flexible enough to move around in, but you always know it’s there. It feels amazing. I loved having such a tiny waist, even temporarily.

The worst part was that you don’t know it, but you are going to sweat under it, even if you’re not working out. I exacerbated that by going outside in it in super hot weather and it started chafing my skin. I countered that by massaging Vitamin E Oil into my sides, and taking a day off. I can’t wait to put it back on, though. After a week I am eating less and better, and feel more motivated to exercise. I don’t do hours of work or anything, I’m just doing 20 minutes with my hand weights and stretching and sit-ups. When I go back to my waist trainer, I’ll be following the 7 Day Waist Training Beginner’s Guide and Checklist to make sure I get the best results out of this.

20160824_124255Sometimes it takes me awhile to get to a product because other things come up, and also I may be overloaded on the item. In this case, I finally had room in the cabinet for a facial cleanser and exhumed a product that’s been waiting since the holidays. i was testing some glycolic peels and vitamin c serums, but they do not agree with my skin. I went rooting through my supplies and pulled out the amazing Ishga Active Cleansing Lotion. It’s organic skincare infused with seaweed from the Hebrides. Seaweed, especially from the clean, cold waters of the Hebrides in Scotland, has those precious anti-oxidants and anti-ageing properties that we covet in the beauty game.

20160824_151010You pump some of the soft pink cream into your hand and them massage it onto your skin, You don’t need water, I just have the faucet running for effect. Just rub this into your skin in upward strokes, believe me between the smell and the fragrance you’ll end up having to force yourself to stop. A minute should be good. Then use some cotton balls to wipe it off. It takes off the grime and leaves your skin obscenely soft. To make sure I waited a few days and then used it just before sitting down to write this post. It’s an instant moisturizer.  So luxe. The price is 30 GBP, and at the moment that’s $39.73 USD, so that’s a bargain.

 

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

