books, cooking, Fashion, home, home decor, home decorating, movies, photo, Photography, shopping

Mike and Dave, caftans, and cookbooks

The weirdest thing happened! I literally opened the mailbox and there was a check inside. Someone started a class action suit against a former employer of mine and while I remembered getting paperwork about it, I hadn’t really taken in the fact that I would get money. I literally did nothing! However? It was a crap job, and I deserve restitution just for having been forced to work there because I was broke. I put half away and then gave myself permission to do the one thing I love above everything else (except eating… nothing beats that), I shopped. Online.

There is nothing like laying around naked with the ceiling fan working at just the right speed and a good cup of green tea to set you up for not leaving the house to spend money.

Screenshot 2016-07-13 at 5.55.30 PM

I got two cookbooks that I have been thinking about, At Elizabeth David’s Table and Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. I know everyone is having racial unrest right now, but these are good books and the recipes work. I bought a picture frame from Ikea, also long overdue, for a poster that featured a photograph I took. At the time, I got paid $50 and my name was on the posters and invitations for my school’s student fashion show. I bought a tshirt from my Society 6 store, I designed it and now I’m wearing it. I also bought this most awesome Ekouaer push up bra, which I had read about on The Cut, only $18!  I bought 5 pairs of underpants and some hand weights from Target. I bought pillows from Ikea ($3.49!) and then realized that I love pillows and bought 3 more ($1.99). I was on fire.

Screenshot 2016-07-13 at 6.26.04 PM

I bought this caftan, too. I was just raging! I didn’t even spend it all! That was the best part. I had change left over. Huzzah!

mike-and-dave-main-334fca06-b702-4c41-bee1-e7f32ded9f7f

I also went to see a movie, but I went to the matinee and only paid half-price? Which was good because it was only Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates. You can read my review here.

I still can’t believe the weird luck and great timing, because I needed to be frivolous. This has been a year of doing things differently and trying to craft a new path for myself, which can be difficult. This was the year of trying to find love and forge friendships, and that can be deadly. Finding out that some random guy stood up to a huge corporation and won on my behalf without even knowing me is like rain in the desert.

 

xoxo, Faith/SassyEthnicBohemian

Leave a Reply

