beauty, beauty products, beautytools, Fashion, hair, hair products, hair styling tips, hair tools, haircare, summer beauty

Beauty: in which we dig into the hair products more seriously #haircare

So after going to the beach a few weeks ago, I found myself feeling fine with my body but I was now dissatisfied with my hair. I’ve been seeing other women with big, fluffy heads of natural hair and it made me remember that while I’ve tested a slew of products, I didn’t really do much to actually make my hair grow. Sometimes I braid it, but as far as length is concerned I haven’t put any effort into it. Now I’m like… hmmm.

So this month I decided to start really putting in some work.

IMG_20160620_105552

Pura D’or sent over some reinforcements. 100% Argan Oil for rehydration and nourishment of skin and hair, and the amazing 100% Rosehip Seed Oil. The Rosehip Seed Oil is used as a pre-shampoo scalp therapy. You massage it into your scalp and let it sit for 2 to 5 minutes. I figured the massage can only help by stimulating my hair follicles, and the Rosehip Seed Oil kicks in to handle flakage. Massaging and combing is basically removing the excess dead skin on your head and the oil kicks in to moisturize the skin the hair grows out of. This can only be a good thing long-term. 20160630_124457.jpg

We already talked about the Scalp Therapy shampoo and Healing Conditioner, the next step in my haircare regimen. Once I’ve cleansed and conditioned, I part my hair and do two strand twists and bantu knots. That gives me a chance to use up the Phyto Specific Moisturizing Styling Cream.  It’s formulated especially for hair like mine, but with so many products coming in it’s been shoved to the back of the hair product bin. Once I get all of the hair twisted up I spritz it with the IT Hair Care. I’ve started using the Curl Keeper H2O Water Bottle, too.  I’ve been using it to mist my hair when I let the twists out. Mist, run a little Curl Keeper frizz control gel on and I’ve got a cute, curly afro. There is no way that this much work won’t pay off in the long run.

Or by December.

20160613_185115

I’ve been using my Pro Beauty Tools hairdryer on the regular now. I figured, again, it can only help. And it means water trapped in my textured hair won’t just randomly roll down my back at the grocery store. And it makes sets my twists so that I end up with a curly fro. It’s a visual difference, and emphasizes how much my hair has grown since January. It makes me feel one step closer to my goal, which has to keep me going until the end of the year.

See you in 5 months.

 

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

