beauty, beauty products, Fashion, lipstick, makeup, makeup tips, red carpet, summer beauty, urban beauty united

in which we celebrate Tracee Eliss Ross’ shocking pink lips #makeup

I don’t really watch awards shows, but I do watch twitter the day after and sometimes you see something really fun to comment on.

And I got an email about this look, too. So there you go.

Last night actress Tracee Ellis Ross shook the red carpet with a vintage Thierry Mugler  snakeskin dress that featured a  high neckline and punkily slashed bodice, slicked back hair and pink lips from Makeup Forever35B4405200000578-0-image-m-27_1466991244834

I used to work with the pr company that handles Makeup Forever last year, but finally got fed up when I got yet another ‘get the look’ email featuring a white celebrity. It got on my nerves badly enough that I actually said something because, seriously, if a brand can’t partner with a black actress for red carpet events in 2016, that brand is either willfully racist or they suck. Like how hard is it to catch some up and coming or established black woman and get them to let you do they’re makeup? Stop playing.

Anyway.

I figured, after the heated exchange I had with my former pr lady bestie, that I’d never hear from Makeup Forever again… but there it was this morning: get the look featuring Tracee Ellis Ross, star of ABC’s  black-ish. And since it features something I like, pink lips for summer, I threw open my chromebook and got to work. Why? Because I actually do use their products and love them. I wore the Ultra HD foundation to the beach recently and it looked amazing. Why hold a grudge?

Get The Look:

35B43FDB00000578-0-image-a-26_1466991202662

 MAKEUP BY: Jamie Greenberg for MAKE UP FOR EVER INSPIRATION: “Tracee is so creative and always has such fun ideas for her look. Her dress and hair were both very sleek, so we wanted to create a sleek, chic makeup look with a pop of color.” TIPS/TECHNIQUE: “I wanted to give Tracee glowing, dewy skin so I started by prepping her skin with MAKE UP FOR EVER Step 1 Hydrating Skin Equalizer, followed by MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD Foundation in Y245. I then used MAKE UP FOR EVER Pro Sculpting Palette in #50 to highlight and contour her cheeks, followed by a touch of MAKE UP FOR EVER Sculpting Blush in #04 Satin Light Pink. I added MAKE UP FOR EVER Artist Shadow #S-908 Mauve to her cheeks to add a touch of brightness.

I gave Tracee bold, defined brows using MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Brow in #25 and then lined her upper waterline with Aqua Black Waterproof Cream Eyeshadow. I wanted to focus her eye makeup on the outside of the eye, so I used MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua XL Eye Liner in #M-60 Matte Dark Brown, creating a cat eye and adding a touch of the highlight from the Pro Sculpting Palette onto her eyelids. I used one coat of MAKE UP FOR EVER Smoky Stretch Mascara, then applied individual long and medium length MAKE UP FOR EVER Lash Show false lashes in N-601, finishing her eye look with another coat of mascara.

I used the new MAKE UP FOR EVER Artist Rouge #M203 to create her bold, matte pink lip and finish her look with a pop of color.”

And there you have it. Welcome back to SEB, Makeup Forever!

For more pink lipstick suggestions you can check out my polyvore post

Screenshot 2016-06-27 at 11.10.18 AM

Think Pink! 

 

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

 

Leave a Reply

