autumn, fall, Fashion, hair, ootd, personal style, seasonal update, wardrobe update for aw 2015, wigs, winter

in which we update our fall closet and buy a wig (you read that right)

So, yes, the fall season cam upon us a minute ago, but I was running around gathering nuts to put before you. I mean content…

Um. Hm. #cricketsfall into pattern 1  Anyhoo! As soon as the temperature dipped, I dipped into the sweater drawer. Those Kensie sweaters from January? Back on my back. Dragged out the LL Bean jeans (well, I never put those away, so…) And new boots from Cat Footwear! I was testing every shade of red nailpolish that day, too. Not for any blog purposes? I was just bored.fall into pattern 1a

When your outfit randomly echoes your surroundings. If you put this shadow photo together with the graphic on my sweater, you would have a spooky Halloween style thing. Right? fall into pattern 2  It was still warm when I shot these, thinking I would put them up right away and then two months go by. If you put a cardigan or sweater coat over this and swap the straw fedora for a felt one, you have transitioned this outfit. Or a blazer! The REpurposing NOLA bag is perfect for fall colors. fall into pattern 3

I added this Red Nite anchor bracelet from Milton John (that new jewelry startup from Sweden that I’m working with). This is a good update for me, because it fits in my laid-back style and the gold anchor works if I wear it with something nicer. Go to www.miltonjohn.com to get yours, and use my special code faith10 at checkout for a discount. fall into pattern 4

I’m pretty sure that I talked about these boots, but this was from the first moment that I got them. When they were new, unworn and innocent. I just… I mean… You know? They are the perfect work/combat style boot for me. I like the rich dogwood color, and because my feet are long I am loving the slimmer silhouette. AND they’re super comfortable. AND you can tie the boot strings and just use the zip on the side. AND… fall into pattern 5The soles are reinforced so that your heels don’t wear down as quickly. For someone who literally walked the sole off of a pair of boots once, this is an amazing innovation. And it’s really pretty. But the reinforcement saves you money ion the long run, because you won’t have to re-sole as quickly.  fall into pattern 6Here’s a perky little turnout! This was a denim on denim outfit that I put together for a Lucky Community post. The idea was to combine pieces so that the imaginary wearer could go to work, the gym, and out for happy hour in one outfit. All the product info is in the post. fall into pattern 7This is one afternoon of good luck. Not even joking. I decided to take a walk over to the Brooklyn Museum and on the way I ended up thrifting. I updated my wardrobe to include the fall colors and was able to find pieces that work with what I already have. Bonanza!!!  fall into pattern 8The herringbone tweed wool blazer is in a dusty rose gold, and brand new. The cords actually flare, so it has a loose trouser feel. These scarves are just too amazing. Not too thick and great for the transitional period until it gets super cold. This bag is genuine leather. The color is insane, I love it.

Now, for the deep stuff… the bigger changes. sebfallbeauty1I decided that I would do my best to wear makeup more often and really go out of my way to look nicer. Why? Because you can’t give advice without taking it. Also, I have a lot of makeup even after giving and throwing stuff away. Better use it.

sebfallbeauty2I also decided to get a wig. This is the wig. Behold!

sebfallbeauty3This is me road-testing the wig before I wore it to an event. Check out how I’m wearing the same sweater as Angelina’s Vogue cover!!! Um, but I had mine wrapped around me since 2010. Leggings, socks, boots. The sweater coat for swagger. I went out and the wig kept my head warm, and while nobody dropped at my feet professing undying love, nobody said anything mean either. It was just like wearing a new hat, but curlier.sebfallbeauty4I added the wig-hat to one of my basic outfits and it added a little zing. AND it inspired me to try the blue eyeshadow thing, since my face is framed by hair- which calls attention to my eyes. Obviously someone was feeling a tad cute right here. It was just overalls and a sweatshirt, but because I added something extra it felt new. sebfallbeauty5

Wore the wig into Manhattan to get chores done, adding the new boots, one of the new scarves, and my fave bag. The military jacket from last season gets thrown over the overalls. Seasonal update complete…just in time to start waiting for Christmas.

Next up: we go to Kenwerks for an ss2016

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

