Accessories, bags, event, Fashion, Fashion Show, food, furniture, home furnishings, jewelry, leather, NYFW, ootd, personal style, shoes, shopping

NYFW: in which we go see Daniel Silverstain’s ss2016 show and attend NOLCHA Fashion Lounge

Daniel Silverstain:silverstain ootdIt was hot and humid. I wore this because I wanted to. I added the $10 straw fedora later, but it still counts. That’s my birthday bag from REpurposing NOLA. I was still sweaty? But that shirt is so old it doesn’t matter. It’s so old it predates my blog. silverstain1   The back view. silverstain2My favorite look, because of the simplicity of the cut. the fabric is all the drama here. I also liked the yellow/white manicure with silver strip, because I could do that and probably will. silverstain3I LOVED the use of color. It felt very fun. The print was sort of Abstract Expressionist, sort of African. Silverstain kept it simple in a way. If you take that redbanded pleated skirt and wear it with a white tshirt and ballet slippers or converse, you will be beautifully dressed without having done anything other than slip on a skirt.

I loved the little ruffle on the bottom of the printed shift dress in photo 1. I’d wear the leggings with a hot strappy black chemise and killer stilletos (live the ones in the show, that weird too long strap, like a dog’s tongue). So disco era.silverstain4Metallics. Let’s talk. Last summer there were these knife pleated skirts everywhere that looked to be made out of gold leaf or tinfoil. If you bought one, just put that away and trot it out for ss2016, cuz it’s still relevant. Silverstain did a great, crazy spaceman leather jacket, but I wasn’t s fond of those culottes. However, that’s not to say they’re not workable or fabulous. I’m just saying I don’t feel them. silverstain iced psl

Afterwards I had to purge the fashion by having a PSL on ice at Sarbucks. So good. Although they have a new thing now. This was my first PSL ever, though.

Nolcha Fashion Lounge:nolcha 4

It was sort of a gloomy day and I had just seen the sargent exhibit and felt like this was the only thing that I wanted to wear in the world. Those white LL Bean Signature twill pants are perfect. Just so comfortable. the gold wingtips with mes insert are from Ami Clubwear, and they just add that right amount of sass. The take the dandy idea and slap it silly. nolcha 1  This jewelry by Raje was showstopping. I really liked the leather dickey, although I think the metal corners are too heavy and sharp. I loved the way that they draped these bib necklaces. Sexy! nolcha 2Interesting patterning from Charles & Ron on these dresses. I love the strong and unflinching use of the yellow/gold. Like, POW! Summer dress in your face! The short one appeals to me. It’s like a dashiki or something. Too cute and perfect for the beach. I liked their bags and leather belts. Nicely done, very rich looking. nolcha 3The home furnishings at Bo Concept where the Nolcha Fashion Lounge was located made me hungry to shop. So many cute little tchotchkes! A skateboarding gold bulldog? Wonderful.nolcha 5

I had another place to go and as I walked down 18th I found a MUJI! I LOVE MUJI! I went in and poked around, and bought a few highlighters and a pumice stone for fun. They had a ton, but it takes me forever to make choices so. I always have to think about it forever.

Next Up: NYFW Streetstyle featuring Teri Agins and a cameo from Cathy Horyn

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

IMG_20150917_093142[1]

Leave a Reply

