celebrities, Fashion, kids, ootd, personal style, Style

NYFW: in which we go to Paul Frank’s Circus Jumble fashion show and lose our minds

This was so awesome, I scrambled to RSVP and held my breath until I was confirmed. pf1

Circus!!! That was literally all I saw. My mom took my brothers and I to the Circus pretty much every year and I only have happy associations with that word. Also, they promised candy. Paul Frank fashion show, circus and candy? I’m so there.pf2I saw the Sargent exhibit at the Met on Labor Day and it influenced my outfit choice. I also wanted to do the ‘white after Labor Day thing’ so it all worked out. I loved my outfit, I can’t lie. It was a no stress, no struggle choice, and I only needed a little eyeshadow and some rosey colored vaseline for my lips. I bought the hat on the street for $10, the pants are LL Bean Signature, the t-shirt is H&M and the bag and shoes are from Ami Clubwear.
pf2aWhen I got to the event site, all this was happening. Just little kids running up and down, milling about restlessly and moms trying to keep it together. I was a little scared, because children? I just didn’t think that kids would be at a kids fashion show, so that should tell you a lot.  pf3A huge door opened and we were ushered in and they were not kidding; it was really a circus. Within the space they had aerialists, a stilt walker, a hula hoop lady, and it was amazing.  pf4The legendary DJ Fulano kept the place jumping with kid friendly hip-hop and oldies. He totally had my heart when he played Cool It Now by New Edition. There were little stands with candy and drinks for anyone that could toddle up and ask. There was also a cotton candy cart, popcorn, and a stand where you could get flash tats and Paul Frank tattoos. pf6

The Circus Jumble reached a fever pitch before the 4.30 pm fashion show. 

pf7

The circus theme carried through to the clothing with boys sporting tiger stripes on sporty orange and blue outfits. Comfy polo shirts and shorts perfect for spring and summer playdates. The girls had a bold pink scheme that sometimes showed a takeoff on leopard spots.  pf8 Aggressively girlie looks, great for girls 7 to 10. Bold color, but easy for moms to put together. Very North West, right? But in color, which most kids would prefer.  pf9

The tween set got the metallic treatment. I am going to admit that this little black dress with silver discs strewn all over it is something I would wear. It’s funky, but simple. The gold jeans and silver striped cropped top is very sophisticated, more for the fashion-forward child who will prob end up going to Parsonspf92 I like the little puffer vest, because if you just buy that it can liven up a regular jeans and t-shirt outfit and your tween can wear it constantly. This is another item that I kind of want for myself. I like the idea of it under an olive army style jacket. pf91  The boys represented themselves nicely. The smaller boys were orange/blue and black/white, while the older boys had black, white, and metallic clothing. The clothing seems comfortable, nonrestrictive and the children seemed to really like how they looked. Childhood is a funny time where you want to stand out and fit in at the same time. I think that the Paul Frank ss2016 kids collection delivers both nonconformist fun, while staying within the lines of what other children would look at and find acceptable. It’s not too cutesy, either. pf93 I was running around taking my last photos, when I was lucky enough to get a shot of one of the models from the show. Do you love this pose or what? her face is a little shiny because she was mauling a cone of cotton candy right before I took this shot. Party animal!

At this point I was hot and overexcited and full of sugar, so I thought it was best to leave. On the way out, I was trying to take a photo of a cute, punky fashion tot when I noticed that he was standing in front of Coco Rocha. Perfect timing! pf94I got a few pics of Coco clowning for the camera and then headed out. I have to say that in 5 years of running all over NY doing fashion events, the Paul Frank Circus Jumble was one of my absolute most memorable favorites. pf95

I also managed to make it out of the Circus Jumble with a souvenir! Tucked in my bag along with a lot of candy, a can of Zevia soda and a bottle of Hubert’s Lemonade was a cute little monkey toy all for me. I’m going to call her Paulina.

Next up: We talk about the Givenchy NYFW show and it’ sopen door ticket policy

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

1 thought on “NYFW: in which we go to Paul Frank’s Circus Jumble fashion show and lose our minds”

Leave a Reply

