Accessories, Fashion, jewelry, new york, relaxation, skincare

in which we go over to the Glossier showroom in my new Le Grand hat and do nothing (there was a facial involved)

invite

Sometimes New York throws out these weird things that are super cool without even trying. I saw this little tidbit on twitter and decided that it was the perfect place to show off my Le Grande Hat on a sunny Friday afternoon. I mean, I had work to do, but still… it was time to get on a train and explore! glossier1

This is me on the train. I have worn those embroidered Kesh Beauty Hamsa bracelets to a frazzle, but I love them. Notice the tall hat? We’re gonna talk about it a little later…

glossier2

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but when you see a sandwich board inviting you to come get your nails done, it sounds like that’s the place you’re looking for. The display case with Glossier products kind of confirmed that. We’re here! And it was really close to the subway. Impossible to get lost, and that’s a blessing in New York.  glossier3

It was one of those places that it’s impossible not to like. there was an outdoor area, lots of pretty but weirdly cool plants, and hey- they like happiness. I mean, there was an actual sign. I’m addicted to happy these days, so when I go somewhere and find that it’s sanctioned and encouraged, I stay put.  glossier6

Check this out, people were, indeed, getting their nails done- so it wasn’t just an empty promise. Also, no one put any pressure on me to do it, so that made me even more comfortable. I just wanted to poke around and see what this Glossier thing was about. glossier5From what I could see, there was skin care as well as a lightly tinted moisturizer or BB cream. I’m skittish when it comes to trying new skin care brands, surprise!, so I kept looking and listening. I thought the sales people were pr ladies, and I gave one my card like I was at a blogger event. Mortified! She was nice about it though.

glossier7

I liked the decor, it reminded me of my apartment, to be honest. glossier4

I’m glad that bag was in a case, because I could see myself snatching it up. So pretty, that blush color pink! Not to mention fluffy, which is a thing this coming fall season. Glossier knows what’s up.  glossier92

I like these. I think I want plants like these in my house. This little pin seemed to be part of the free gift that they were giving the people who purchased things.   glossier93

there’s a sensory deprivation room, with soft music and crinkly foil walls. So Warhol! Which of course made me not relax. But then, I can’t relax anywhere, not even at yoga. I sat in the bean bag and listened to the music and watched the light on the walls changed and then I took a selfie and went back to the showroom. The Le Grande Hat looked divine, don’t you think? So Cat in the hat, but no stripes and if the cat was a Rastafarian. glossier8Then I decided that I would commit the 20 minutes for a free facial. The sweet sales girl explained the process (pick one and try it) and decided on the Mega Greens Galaxy Pack detoxifying mask ($22) because I hadn’t relaxed in the silver room, and also because by this point I trusted them. I cleaned my face with the wipes provided, and then slathered on some relaxation and went outside on the roof deck 
glossier9
Finally… warm sun, face mask, sweating a little; it was like a sauna. Now I can tell you about the hat. Remember that time we went to the Brooklyn Museum and ran into the French Guy? Well, being nosy I ran and emailed him when I put up the blog link and set up an interview. These are his original design, and they are instantly eye-catching. Everywhere I went men asked where I had gotten my hat. Everywhere. A few tried it on. Le Grande Hat is a life changer accessory. 
glossier91
I sat there in my hat letting my skin bake and I felt amazing. If you’re in New York, make sure you run over to the Glossier Showroom this Friday.The address is on the invite at the top of this post and it’s open to the public from 11am to 6pm. I heard 9/4 may be the last Friday. If you want to check out the products available go to Glossier.com.

Next up: a Closeup interview with Florent Biais of Le Grand Hat

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

1 thought on “in which we go over to the Glossier showroom in my new Le Grand hat and do nothing (there was a facial involved)”

Leave a Reply

