dancing, Fashion, fun, hanging out, new york, relationships

The Meetup Adventure: in which we go hang out at 230 5th with Andy Troy and then run off to karaoke in Williamsburg

230 I love to dance, and I was super excited when I noticed that there’s a particular party that I saw on meetup.com a lot. I decided that I was game to get my 80s dance on and signed up. I mean, hello- free. 2301 230 5th Avenue turned out to have a massive roof area where it seemed like the whole world had congregated. I met up with some people I knew from another meetup and we all ran upstairs to enjoy our drinks in the summer air. And they have wi-fi! And French guys! My ‘go out dancing’ philosophy is that I am going to be moving around, so why get dressed up? I wore a black sackdress that I’ve had forever, my boho bag from REpurposing NOLA and this stretchy headband from Revlon. These Squander boots by Cat Footwear were comfy and easy to move in. These are the French guys I mentioned. Turnes out? That 230 5th is in guidebooks everywhere, so if your fantasy is to meet some foreigner and be swept away, it might happen there. 2302 I myself was just looking to chill, so I had a nice little Angry Orchard apple cider and talked a lot of nonsense until it was time to go down and hit the dance floor.  2303 Isn’t this awesome? They also have a bar up on the roof and you can order bar snacks. If you’re going to be in New York this summer, you should definitely go.   2304 This was what I saw on the 20th floor of 230 5th. there was a whole other lounge-y area before we got to the Andy Troy meetup party, and there was a bar and food thing going on there, too. Check out the square sofa!!! Love it.  2305 We’re here! I used to love going to clubs when I was younger, but I’m not that kind of person anymore. This was fun because it was just clubbish enough, but without velvet ropes, snobbery and high door fees. They had reasonably priced drink specials, and there were tons of people there. From what I understand, Andy Troy has been doing this for a long time, so if you see his name on a meetup you can trust that you’re going to have fun. I wish I had more photos, but the second Wake Me Up Before You GoGo came on, I threw down my bag and started dancing. It was on. And the fun part was that everyone was dancing, so there’s no reason to feel self-conscious. Good times!  2306 Someone knew about a karaoke thing in Brooklyn, so a crew of us left. I loved this gorgeous sculpture installation in the Flatiron Building on 23rd. I love how new York is all about free art. You get a pop of culture just wandering down the street. Alligator Lounge: 2307 I was actually going to go home, but then realized that I had never sang karaoke and I still had some cash on me. So I decided to go and conquer my fear of singing in public and go home when I was done. Many Bud Light’s and free pizzas later, I had sung two songs (Beautiful Stranger by Madonna and Bye Bye Bye by N’Sync- with choreography, thank you). The Alligator Lounge was a really fun place with a pool table, backroom karaoke- and free pizza with every drink. You get a ticket and they give you a four slice personal pan pizza. I mean…that’s beautiful. 2308 I ended up having to take the L train at about 3am. Luckily it wasn’t one of those nightmare moments when things are under construction and also luckily, I was just going a few stops on it. I was able to get home safely, but I was determined not to stay out that late again, no matter what kind of good time I’m having. If you’re going home with friends, it’s ok- but I hate taking the train late at night. 2309 I actually got up a few hours later, threw on my jogging stuff and went running. I only lasted a mile, but I went. Then I crawled home and slept all day.

Next up: we’re off to the the Brooklyn Museum for the Sneaker Culture exhibit!

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

