Accessories, beauty, beauty tools, birthday, blogger, body makeup, bronzer, brows, clothing, collaboration, cosmetics, Fashion, flash tats, hair, jewelry, makeup, nails, photo shoot, Photography, set design, shoes, Style, styling, summer 2015, swimwear, wigs

Photoshoot: Behind the scenes on the #SummerStyleShoot with Originally Remixed

So as you guys know- I love setting up photo shoots. With summer blooming fast I had to make sure that we were all celebrating the start of swimsuit season stylishly! There was no one available from the modeling agency I worked with last time, so I started putting out ‘please model for me’ energy and out of the Twitter machine came Originally Remixed.

Because we got it like that at SEB headquarters.

Get it together:bts5

So this past Sunday, it was time to put all the treats out in the open for Alissa Nichole’s (Originally Remixed) approval. Along with old favorites like these single sole floral print eels and my gold oxfords with lace insert, Ami Clubwear was kind enough to send over these phenomenal Jasmine wedge heels. bts3

I had belts by Southern tide (brown) and LL Bean (yellow), plus some cheap sunglasses and jewelry from Chloe & Isabel, Lisa Hoffman Beauty and Shop Jacqueline Rosebts4

Add to that some awesome pieces from Jade & Jasper, a Hello Kitty Ring  from a McDonald’s Happy Meal and some random birthday related items- because it was going to be Alissa’s birthday. AND I just got sent a pack of flash tats from Dash of Flash to try out- perfect for a summer swim shoot.

 Hair & makeup: bts2

The hair and makeup kit included My Inde Hair’s new Sea Salt Spray #catchawave, some Revlon hair accessories and brushes from Revlon’s new Scalp Sensations Brush Collection. The pink brush is from Bed Headbts1

Makeup was mostly Makeup Forever. We had Pro Bronze Fusion, Aquamatics freshest new waterproof glide-on eyeshadow colors, Step 1 Skin Equalizer nourishing formula and Radiant Primer. For lips we had the Aqua Rouge waterproof lip color.For brows, I had the Kiss Products EZ Beautiful Brow Kit and Tweezerman Brow Mousse.

I had a tube of Perfekt Beauty Body Perfection Gel from last summer to work with, and beauty tools from Artis Brush’s Fluenta Collection and Urban Beauty United‘s adorable pink-tipped brushes with rose gold accents (the new colors express the prevailing trends of the season- so you might want to get some rose gold and hot pink in your summer wardrobe!).

 Wardrobe: bts5b

Of course a photo shoot means getting samples to work with. PRISMSPORT sent over this python print sportbra with tangerine band and carbon trim, and Ami Clubwear sent this retro style high-waisted floral bikini.

Thanks to the Underhaus Swimshop pop-up, I met Melinda from Mirame who loaned us some awesome suits, and I got two suits from Daisy & Elizabeth (the gold Atomic Pistol bikini top and bottom, and the peach Blast -off scuba shorts and top)bts5a

I had more maillots from Ami Clubwear and Mirame, plus leggings from PRISMSPORT (the python capri with carbon waist) Pure Barre and the splice legging from Mirame.

bts6

Alissa Nichole, who’s graduating from F.I.T’s Image Consulting certificate program this week, is a savvy thrifter and stylist who came over with a suitcase packed with ultra-feminine summer pieces for the shoot. Sequinned skirt? Sighing. And she really knows her strappy sandals. I died over this long orange sleeveless column dress from boohoo.

bts7

It was a clothes explosion all over the living room. Tulle skirts, lace dresses, denim, cardigans- I loved the fact that we had compatible taste in clothing. I’m probably going to stop by her Stoop Sale on 6/27 (if you’re in New York and can get to Brooklyn you should go). Get all the deets here.

Attempted set design:

bts8

So while I usually just go with the flow, this time I had an IDEA. I wanted a crazy backdrop instead of just plain walls, and I decided that I needed to cover the front room with garbage bags. yes. This happened. Part of it was because Alissa mentioned that it was her birthday, so it wasn’t just random. I figured that I’d use my Samsung Galaxy S5 Active’s flash and do something really edgy.

bts8a

It didn’t really work out.

The look takes shape:

bts9

As soon as we got settled, which took forever because we just started gossiping right away, we jumped into makeup mode.

bts9a

I prepped Alissa’s skin with Step 1 Skin Equalizer nourishing primer mixed with their Radiant Primer in peach and smoothed on with a Baby Blender  sponge from Urban Beauty United. I filled in her brows with the lighter powder from Kiss Products’s EZ Beautiful Brow Kit and then used the highlighter t accentuate the curve of her brow and her brow bone.

I used the NYC Color Long Island sands neutral color palette, sweeping a warm champagne brown over her lid and then using a bronze-y color in the crease. I traced the lashline with Aquamatics waterproof glide-on eyeshadow in Satiny Bronze. I used the Aquarouge waterproof lip color on her lips (FYI this stuff is like colored cement, so be advised- apply carefully!) and then swept Pro Bronze Fusion in Honey along her cheekbones, across the forehead and a little on her nose and chin. I wanted a 70s look, but nothing too crazy. I also felt that this was a great place to start, since I would be adding color later.

I used Perfekt Beauty body perfecting gel along with an Artis Fluenta Oval 10 brush to adda little sunkissed bronze sparkle to her exposed arms and decolletage.

Styling the shoot:

bts9b

One of the fun things about working with someone who has a professional knowledge of fashion is how you can extend your ideas and end up layering looks so that they have more impact. I pulled the Mirame bandeau top in fuschia with deep blue side panels. I sent the photo to Alissa, and she came to the shoot with this gorgeous tulle skirt in a sweet navy blue. Teamwork!

For makeup, I added some Irridescent Electric Blue eyeshadow and then later we added a sweet soft pink for another outfit. As you may have guessed, Alissa came equipped with changeable hair, like a big Beyonce doll. We love.

bts91

Alissa and I worked together to pick out the details. She loved this Lisa Hoffman Beauty gold-toned link bracelet with jeweled pendant, and this Radiant Duo ring from Jade & Jasper. She went non-conformist on my by choosing the floral pumps from Ami Clubwear. At first I was like…hmm. But then when I saw the whole look (coming soon, I swear!) it was whimsical and charming and very Carrie.

 The party’s over:bts92

As usual, I made sure there was a goodie bag. I mean, with all the stuff that comes into my apartment it would be rude not to share, right? I packed a bag with an Ume Drive Millenium usb bracelet, DKNY Be Delicous mini, AquaRouge lip color, Cantu Beauty‘s Comeback Curl Next Day Curl Revitalizer, My Indie Hair Sea Salt Spray, Hello Kitty toy (what? it was her birthday!), a selection of makeup Forever products (including the HD Blush) and a Desigual bikini. I threw in one of the Revlon brushes for Alissa’s wigwork.

But guess what? THIS TIME SOMEONE GAVE ME SOMETHING!!! Alissa gave me this funky pink lame turban, which we had used in the shoot. Isn’t that cool? High fives and hugs all around!

Next up: The SummerSwim Shoot with Alissa Nichole of Originally Remixed!

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

1 thought on “Photoshoot: Behind the scenes on the #SummerStyleShoot with Originally Remixed”

Leave a Reply

