Accessories, art, block party, bodypainting, exercise, Fashion, festivals, footwear, free, friends, handbag, jewelry, museums, new york, personal style, Summer

The Meetup Adventure: in which we visit the Museum Mile Festival and have milk shakes

museummile

I actually got a little mixed up, so this is out of order- but it’s the internet so we can do what we want.

The meetup group that I went to the Whitney with were at it again, and since I had never been to Museum Mile I couldn’t wait to go. It was also nice to be meeting with the group again.

museummile2

The day started with a workout- now preceded by the ceremonial trussing in the sport bra. Once I manage to wrangle myself into this thing, it’s a done deal- I’m going to work out. Strap on the Samsung GearFit, we out.

I also just wanted an excuse to show off my belly. It’s not flat? But it has visible muscle tone, and I’m proud of that. So, um, there you go.

museummile1

I also wanted to share the gorgeous flower bushes that grow by the track. Pretty, right?

museummile3

Once I got home, it was time to pull myself together and get clean.

museummile4

As usual I went for reassuringly feminine. No big surprises, no fashion statements. This is a pleated strapless sundress that I got for $10 three years ago, and it’s always a compliment getter. I decided on my Parmana Designs Dream Awake bag ($420), Lisa Hoffman Beauty Vibrant Tuscan Fig Bracelet ($65) and Jade & Jasper Festive Harmony Necklace ($118) as the perfect accessories. I couldn’t decide on the shoes…

museummile4a

Until I remembered that not only would I be walking a LOT, but it was hot outside. I went with my Zosia sandals from Cat Footwear ($35.99). It was a good choice. It was hot and humid and sunny- I was melting, but at least my feet were ventilated.

museummile5

I met up with Susan, the group leader, outside of the Jewish Museum to See the Revolution of the Eye exhibit- which centered around beloved shows from the grand heyday of television- meaning back when it was literate and creative. After attracting a few more meetup members, we just started running around the museum like maniacs. The Museum Mile festival is 3 hours long, and the consensus was that we would see as much art as possible.

museummile5a

I snapchatted the whole time. I snapchatted til my fingers hurt. I finally got snapchat.

museummile6

When we left, there was a full-tilt block party going on. Fifth Avenue had been invaded by everyone in New York who wanted to do something free on a sunny Friday afternoon. They were giving out free chalk to do sidewalk drawings and I was mad because I thought it was food.

museummile7

This was the only thing we saw at the Guggenheim Museum because their line LITERALLY wrapped around the block. I am not joking or lying. We actually followed the line, saw what it was and kept it moving. Who in their right mind would wait for one museum when all of them were free?

However- outside these people were doing some sort of an art happening. A completely naked girl was painted head to foot. She was very popular with the men. At first I thought there was a g-string involved- but nope! Nekkid.

So that was the art that we saw at the Guggenheim Museum.

museummile8

Chastened, mollified, and slightly shocked we regrouped and headed across the street for the National Academy Museum & School.

museummile8a

I think this looks like a big poop.

museummile9

It was super, crazy crowded in there, but I managed to snatch a look at some things that stirred me. I really liked this strange green sculpture by Judy Pfaff. It’s both gross and glorious.

museummile91

We ended up at the Metropolitan Museum of Art just as the sun was setting on the view that has launched aspirations world-wide.

Also, Susan had a really cute skirt on.

museummile92

The view again, which I shot as the guards were screaming at us to get out. I am going to print this and hang it on my wall.

Those guards at the Met can bite me.

museummile93

Walking down a still-crowded Fifth Avenue, one of teh group members offered to buy everyone ice cream.

What? Free Mr. Softee? Yes, thank you!!! I wish someone would have a blogger event and have Mr. Softee at the event. I would die of happiness.

museummile94

Of course I was the only woman in the group to take him up on it, but whatever. John and I stood perusing what Mr. Softee had to offer, but decided on a shake, influenced by the guy ahead of us. It just made more sense. The heat would melt the ice cream, resulting in a sticky mess. Toppings would slide around in a pool of softened, gelatinous goo and not taste as good…but a shake? John and I both commended the man on his decision making skills. I believe the word ‘genius’ was used.

That shake was $6.

I mean… I’m just saying.

Next up: Geeking out and networking at the Data Driven Inbound tech meetup!

Leave a Reply

