Fashion, shoes, shopping

in which we take a moment to stroll through Bergdorf Goodman after an event and look at shoes

Remember that time we went to Bergdorf’s at the crack of dawn to have breakfast with Artis Fluenta? me, too! After breakfast was over and I was finally really awake, I took a little walk around the most gorgeous department store in New York. bg1

on the lower level there are acres of fragrances like Jo Malone, Chantecaille and Chanel as well as cosmetics from all the chichiest of the chichi brands. This was the second time in life that I’d been in the store, but the last time was a group of scent enthusiasts and I was whisked away before I could really look at anything. this time? I was gonna get an eyeful before I left.

bg2

2nd floor, designer clothes. As I stepped out of the elevator I found myself face-to-face with life-sized manequins wearing Chanel, which was nice. Next was an alcove full of Valentino. Right after that was Gucci ready to wear. Nice.

But then I saw what I really wanted… shoes.

bg3

Sigh… this is the Bergdorf Goodman Shoe Salon. Hello, lover!!

bg4

Do we love these pebbly leather Nicholas Kirkwood slip-on loafers? You know we do. Every color! Wrap and send! I would literally change my shoes every 5 minutes in order to make sure I could look at all he colors and finishes all day. Maybe wear a gold loafer on one foot and a red one on the other, just to do it.

bg5

Oh, those studded Valentino Garavanis!!! I am such a sucker for ankle straps.

bg6

You can totally buy sneakers here. I’m not sure who the little flowers strewn ones are by, but there was a whole display of Chanel sneakers and faux workboots. For when you’re just kickin’ it, in Cannes.

bg7

These would be my everyday show- I would wear them every day until the eventually fell apart and then I would have them fixed and keep wearing them, held together with tape if necessary.

bg8

Gold was strong on the shoe market, with these chunky 90s style boots and this ultra Grandma chic Prada sandal. While it had no gold, the chunky 90s trend held strong in these daisy painted Maison Martin Margiela boots. so old school Drew Barrymore.

bg9

My biggest discovery was this megatrend- espadrilles are the shiznit for rich people this summer. EVERY label seemed to have a pair! Proenza Schouler, Nicholas Kirkwood, Prada, everybody. It was an espadrille bonanza from lacey to funky punk.

bg91

I had to leave at that point, and get some work done but f course I took some snaps on the way out! The perfume sprayers are super aggressive at BG. I guess when you’re asking for hundreds of dollars a bottle you can’t be a wallflower. I was stopped by the Maison Francis Kurkdjian guy, and almost traded my Escada jacket for the fragrance he was letting me sniff.

I got away, but right around the corner were the Roja perfume guys. Danger! Innuendo! Mischief! And those are just the names of the fragrances. You can imagine what they smell like. Swooning and running.

bg92

Funnily enough, there was no one to show me these Diana Vreeland scents. I would have stuck around a few minutes more for that. That’s why people need to get to work on time. I missed out on smelling Perfectly Marvelous.

bg93

I still had my cameraphone on as I ran and took these photos randomly by accident. But, bags though!

Next up: Delivering cookies and looking at people in the street

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

