Accessories, beauty, events, Fashion, makeup, NYFW, personal style, shoes, Style, winter

NYFW Clothing Diary- what I wore in the freezing cold to go to the last MBFW at Lincoln Center

The only thing worse than going to Fashion Week in the dead of winter is not being invited to go to Fashion Week in the dead of winter. It’s the best time to see your friends, catch up on favorite brands, peoplewatch and shoot streetsyle, and try to make professional connections. If you’re not invited to anything, you may as well pull down your blog and go get a job.

Let’s get on with it…

Day One:

nyfwlooks1

the moment of truth arrived and I had not lost the weight that I wanted so my choices were limited. I decided to go with nerdchic layers mixing thrift store pieces with brand presents. The scarf and skirt are from last winter, and the tights are from Jack’s 99 World (.99). I layered on a Citizen Ciao Victoria Bay tshirt ($38) and my fave red Kensie Clothing high-low cardigan and then my LL Bean Freeport field jacket ($59). Finished off a dark grey wool beanie, a long stripey scarf around my neck and these Irenea Cat Footwear booties ($120) on my feet. The black and white bag is the Speedy from Kensie ($87.95).

I did a neutral eye (Aveda Allspice and Golden Cypress petal essence eyeshadows), heavy black eyeliner (Makeup Forever ink liner with butterLONDON Wink eye pencil in Union Jack Black ) and Rimmel London Scandaleyes mascara. Tata Harper Voluminous lip & cheek tint in Very Naughty ($35) put apples in my cheeks, and I went with a red lip (Makeup Forever Aqualip pencil in C19, Stila Liquid Stay All Day liquid lipstick in Fiery, and Rozge lipgloss in Barcelona) because that felt right.

nyfwlooks2

Ran into Rhea Santos of Sew Stylish Rhea and Glasgow (Dynel) Skinner of My Life On and Off the Guest List. So much fun! I ended up sitting near Glasgow at the Desigual show, which never happens.

nyfwlooks3

The Desigual ‘World of Creativity’ show was electric. I can’t wait to get that written up. In the audience were Katie Holmes, Drake, and model Adriana Lima. On the runway was Behati Prinsloo and Desigual brand ambassador Chantelle Winnie.

nyfwlooks3a

After the show we ambled over the Tide Fashion Closet where stylist Jennifer Eve Eisner (photo 1) was on hand to tell everyone about clothing maintenance and closet organization. I trust her. She had on real Valentino Garavani studded ballet slippers in neon green and said she wore them with everything (see them in photo 2).

They gave away cups of Blue Print Cleanse juice and bags of Tide Detergent pods. It was one of the most popular places to sit since they had this great white leather furniture and a charging station. I met Lorna Solana of The Fabulous Report, and Angela of The Little Black SuitcaseSarah Jessica Parker walked by, as did Bethann Hardison and Lynn Yaeger. That Tide corner was the hotspot. meanwhile we were all just sitting there drinking free juice and laughing at She Has Had It.

Day Two:

nyfwlooks4

I had to get to a show at 10 am, but I thought it was a presentation. I woke up late, almost didn’t leave the house, then finally got dressed and ran out. Forgot my hat, hair actually froze. Forgot gloves, not enough layers. Hated my makeup.

Sufferation.

Then I missed the show. Technically this outfit doesn’t exist. BUT check out my full length selfi thanks to my voice activated Samsung Galaxy S5 Active cameraphone! Did you guys notice? So now, as long as I remember to get it done, I’ll be doing full length selfies.

Day Three: 

nyfwlooks5

Ok, THIS time I was going to make my show. Woke up early, showered, ate cracked bulgur wheat and everything. I wore my grey velvet coat that I bought in a thrift store in 2010, and the SUPRA Footwear Cuttler sneakers ($75) from the day before. A white button down shirt showed under a v-necked woven sweater from Kensie Clothing, both haphazardly tucked into a pair of LL Bean Trueshape Denim slimfit jeans ($59). I added a red jade Lisa Hoffman Beauty tunisian neroli fragrance bracelet ($65) to pick up the red in my sweater and lips. I brushed  Probelle Beauty Richness on my nails, accenting with Feeling Sexy (red, again). I gave myself a retro smokey eye with my Kevyn Aucoin ($42) and then just ran out the door.

nyfwlooks6

I managed to make it to Son Jung Wan, but I ended up not having a seat. That turned out to be a good thing because I was able to see the whole runway. the show was colorful, full of fur and sparkles. That’s also going to be reviewed here soon. Kelly Rutherford, Kelly Bensimmon, and Gene Simmons’ kids Nick and Sophie were also in the audience.

20150214_171124-1

It snowed on the way home.

Day Five:

nyfwlooks8

I didn’t have any Sunday events, so we jump ahead a  day to Monday the 16th. It was just a blogger lounge where brands want to meet ‘influencers’ so I wasn’t going to dress up. I grabbed my LL Bean tumbled leather Lounger boots ($249) which are super warm and go so well with my favorite crazy socks from Jacks 99 World (.99). I wore a great, drapey, soft Eric + Lani tshirt over a sweatshirt and under a rabbit fur jacket from the thrift storea nd my l bean jacket. Those sweat pants were $16 at Rainbow last summer. The bag is a faux snakeskin hobo from Kensie ($87.95)

nyfwlooks9

My favorite discovery at TechStyle Lounge was this UME Drive bracelet (4 for $100), and my second favorite was this Selfie Stage from Stylinity ($19.99 and it has a suction cup on the back!)  for hands-free selfies.

20150216_194234

Stopped by Key Food and bought provisions. I was out of leeks. That is the last bread that I can eat until after Lent. I am so sad about that- but this was my last sandwich, so…

20150217_142458

It was so good. So, so , sooooooooooooooooooo good.

Sigh.

Day Five:

nyfwlooks91

Yeah, it was cold and I was tired. It was snowing, too. So I stayed home and made red bean soup and looked at all the loot that I’d managed to accrue. We’ll talk about that later.

Day Six:

Photographed loot, ate soup, posted NYFW Streetsyle to blog.

Day Seven: 

I got invited to see Cinderella!!!! Just randomly. So I trooped back over to Lincoln center to hangout with him and two male models at the screening. Fate, karma, serendipity.

nyfwlooks92

I had to step it up a little- and for me that always mean breaking out the Escada jacket. I did a polka dot Eric + Lani longsleeved tshirt under a striped punk rock mohair sweater and bravely wore leggings (ok, I had two pairs of leggings on). I wore my LL Bean jacket under the Escada and my Cat Footwear Irenea boots.I wore my fave brass snake bracelet, Lia Sophia earrings, and this Brazilian Begonia bracelet ($75)

Bag of the day was this peachy pink number from Kensie Clothing which has a fun separate zippered compartment in the front to keep things like your Lucky magazine from getting all crumpled. The color of this bag matches the color of the Lucky logo on this month’s Lupita Nyon’go covered issue, too. It also went perfectly with my Desigual scarf (everyone who attended the NYFW show got one).

Serendipitous.

nyfwlooks93

I wore my hot pink beanie and the scarf that Desigual gave everyone at the show (it’s so pretty!). The great thing about cold weather is that I feel comfortable putting on makeup. I did a fast makeover using Susan Posnick colorflo mineral makeup brushes and colorcorrect highlighting and concealing pencil. I used Aveda Aubergine and Golden Cypress petal essence eyeshadows, Makeup Forever Ink Liner ($23) and my bullet shaped Ellis Faas E401 mascara with a little Origins GinZing brightening mascara.

Same red lip, same red products: Tata Harper Voluminous lip & cheek tint in Very Naughty ($35) put apples in my cheeks, Makeup Forever Aqualip pencil in C19, Stila Liquid Stay All Day liquid lipstick in Fiery, and Rozge lipgloss in Barcelona). After years of feeling not qualified- I have hit my red lip stride.

nyfwlooks94

I adored Cinderella (review coming up later, don’t worry!). The costumes were heavenly. The sets were perfect, and if the script and acting weren’t great- let’s remember that this is for kids. I adored Cate Blanchet as Lady Tremaine the Wicked Stepmother. Her wardrobe alone is worth the ticket price. I loved how the whole story revolves around making the right shoe choice. The glass slipper on display in the lobby made me think of these adorable Ami Clubwear single sole tropical print pumps that it was too cold to wear.

Someday…

Next up: Desigual World of Creativity show review!

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

7 thoughts on “NYFW Clothing Diary- what I wore in the freezing cold to go to the last MBFW at Lincoln Center”

    1. gladly-
      1. you need a nice big sandwich roll
      2. take one avocado and slice into quarters. two pieces for the bottom of the sandwich, two for the top.
      3. select your veggies. i did leeks, a slice of sweet red pepper, sun dried tomatoes, and some diced cheddar cheese.
      4. saute the veggies in a 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil until soft. then add one beaten egg (two if you’re planning to share) and add diced cheese as you scramble.
      5. place on roll.
      6. devour.
      there’s lots of room for improv. sometimes i add meat, sometimes its just sauteed veggies and no egg. just a nice warm treat for your belly. ;-D

Leave a Reply

