beauty, celebrities, events, Fashion, Style

#TBT: Sassy Ethnic Bohemian says goodbye to Lucky Community

So, on June 18th of the year 2013 I gave birth to my baby sassy Ethnic Bohemian. No ordinary child, sassy came walking and talking and styling herself in headwraps and peasant blouses. From the beginning, sassy was endearing, funny, and always happy to overshare. Once she was old enough to live on her own, I decided to give her a home her on WordPress where she has flourishd and gown into- well, a blog that covers more than just what pair of shorts she’s wearing today. Untitled Lucky Community, Sassy’s birth home, is being torn down to make way for Lucky Shops. Sadness. So I decided to put up a few of my personal favorite early posts. ********************************************************************************************************************

#Printsandpatterns Summer Selfie Session: Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

I was looking for a photo of myself and realized with a shock that I hadn’t bothered to take one in 6 months. Not since last winter! Today I had to dress myself down and do a selfie session (that sound naughty, doesn’t it?) Here were the results: I grabbed my fave cutoff shorts ($5), a white peasant top with blue embroidery around the collar and waistline ($3.99), and threw on my favorite boyfriend cardigan from Banana Republic. I was feeling kind of feisty, so I also threw on my favorite bead necklace by Beads for Life The glasses are from St. Marks Place, $8, and the ring I found in the street one day (honestly!). The bag comes from H&M, I bught it on sale for $10. Voila! An easy look that I can wear throughout a creative summer day with no stress. My favorite part is the June Ambrose-ian head wrap. It feels jaunty and hides the fact that I’m moisturizing my hair today. The scarf was from a table in Soho, $5. #printsandpatterns *****************************************************************************************************************

#PrintsandPatterns Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Goes To Etsy Craft Party And Plymouth Church

Summer is harsh on my natural hair, so when it’s really hot I cover up wit a scarf. Thus was ‘sassy ethnic bohemian’ born. The headscarf changes my whole look, and makes me feel like I’m playing a character. This week, Sassy Bohemian Ethnic was everywhere. 326036e624fd22d1d86679da524d0c2a74472901 At Etsy’s Craft Party on June 20th. That’s my puppet! First I went to Etsy’s Craft Party They invited crafters to come out to Brooklyn Bridge Park to make puppets for the Children’s Aid Society. I don’t sew, but I gave it a shot anyway. Luckily for me there was a sewing machine station to make my puppet perfect. I wore my favorite black and white patterned scarf as a headwrap, and an Liz Claiborne open weave summer-weight sweater. The silver grey harem pants came from a place called Pretty Girl and the tusk necklace isForever 21 . c6d55d15af6ce283806bff1f5c84d13c705d49a3 Yes, that is an actual piece of the Plymouth Rock! As I was walking home from the Etsy event, I passed the lovely Plymouth Church I decided to go back for services on Sunday, and ended up wearing my favorite summer dress. 009a6f707ea6c5e13e9f08be7f2c7897ccbe96ad Going to church…African beads replace pearls. It’s by some company called Theme, and I like it because it’s appropriate and has a retro feel. For color I used my Beads for Life necklace and a cheap faux leather belt that I got on 181st Street in Washington Heights. With my striped Kate Spadehandbag and plain black ballet flats, I felt simply elegant. b976db83033c3c76826cb47b060629ddb7790dae I always pass the Brooklyn Academy of Music on the way to the library. After church I changed into a strapless dress that I layered over a grey sport bra. One of those looks that we all put together and then pretend that we don’t. The fabric is light and airy and covered with tiny reflecting sequins. It cost $3.99 from a discount store last summer. The Marilyn Monroe sport bra was $7.99 for two at Marshall’s. ************************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Breaks Down And Wears A Muumuu (Channeling Mrs Roper) #Bargainstyle

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Jun 29, 2013 was so hot the other day that I thought I was going to die of laziness. I could NOT get dressed or even think about putting clothes on my skin. It was hot. 249d4e684ad822eccc0a6a1d21ce4aaa43952ffe A knotted silk scarf is perfect for holding natural hair in place. So I dug around in last year’s gear and found a wonderful garment- the muumuu I bought for $5.99. I won’t even call it a maxi, because it’s not built like those dresses that Nicole Richie was wearing when Rachel Zoe was her stylist… and still wears now that she’s a designer herself. a2c7d5d9c37e09844d94b32dba64f406c33fe3a6 Nicole Richie working that maxi to death. This is a tent-like dress splashed with flowers that is made of lightweight cotton/poly designed to leave me feeling calm, cool, and sweatfree. Or at least, the sweat doesn’t soak the dress because it barely touches your body. 3b812df30baef9f91aa6897082cfc9fa65228b32 Everytime I wear it I think of Mrs. Roper from the 80s sitcom ‘Three’s Company’. Played by Audra Lindley, Mrs. Roper was a housewife with no real hobbies except dressing in caftans and muumuus and harassing Mr. Roper. She was awesome. (For some reason? This is a really popular post. It’s one of my top 5 most popular posts on Lucky Community). ***********************************************************************************************************************

A #Tomboystyle Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Episode

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Jul 12, 2013

I fell asleep listening to the Buzzcocks and woke up wanting to wear my favorite plaid shirt. ac6fe8f35e0e6d8f5ea00aa012abb4dba7b533f9 Ignoring the heat I wore the shirt (which is a lightweight cotton button down that I got at Marshall’s when I was working there) over a loose nubbly tshirt that I’d gotten on clearance at Urban Outfitters. Even though I’m opposed to skinnies in the heat, I took a chance and wore my darkwash Forever 21 $10.99 skinnies because they look awesome cuffed. I finished the whole thing of with my $1.99 plastic skin toned sandals from the discount store on Willoughby Street in Downtown Brooklyn a4b49651e1edd5ddb95edd7eddda89a5382bf2ad Inspirations: Salt n Pepa, Marc Jacobs grunge collection, that guy I see at the library a lot, and Drew Barrymore. b007f15bd90434c7d8e552b78a44eae13b07575d *********************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Stops By Lincoln Center,Wears Gold Lame #Girlonthego

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Jul 30, 2013 I was looking for story ideas for my NY Movies examiner column and found out that Breaking Bad was going to be shown in it’s entirety at Lincoln Center here in New York for the low low price of ‘free.99’. I was out the door in no time. d8f2948baa6f58744ce554d52cf233602e09d6d7 Check out the manicure, ladies: Nars ‘Orgasm’, $18 at Sephora I decided on slack/rocker chic and got all sassified. Headwrap? Check. Fake Moscot frames? Check. Forever 21 tusk necklace? Check. Add to that the Guns n Roses tshirt and voluminous gold lame hi-low dress I got last summer and you’ve got an outfit. Finish with combat boots and those sheer striped mens socks that I got at Jack’s Discount store on 40th Street because they reminded me of something I saw in a magazine one time. I think it was a Prada ad or something. I used the belt from my dress as a neck’lace. I threw on my Banana Republic purse sweater for that grungy ‘je ne se quois’. **********************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian And The No Good, Hot Mess, Terrible Day #Girlonthego

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Jul 27, 2013 It was one of those days where you know that you’re going to be drenched before you walk a block. Just a high temperature, humidity soaring day where you also know that the library is a 15 minute walk away. So what do you do? Go hot mess early and do it without shame. a96bd78c8e6bb092f4c53d420defe4bcfed089cf At least I look happy, ok? I went with a pink silk scarf to cover my hair, a navy blueCalvin Klein combed cotton tshirt (so soft, but it’s actually too big for me. Oops.), and those Miley Cyrus/Max Azria camo jeans that I got at Walmart that time I was in Montana. I rolled them up to create knee length capris. (My bra is not showing on purpose, it just happened. HOWEVER? I liked my facial expression so I decided to just go with the flow. Also, it’s a wireless softbra from Uniqlo,just in case you wondered.) My ‘accessories’ are my Moscot-style fake glasses from St Marks Place, the thick leather belt I snagged from an ex boyfriend, and my $1.99 plastic sandals. let’s not talk about the state of my pedicure. TECHNICALLY it’s not a bad outfit. If you see it like this: 76b2bcfab0f9bfbbd9f8e9551da7b28506b04ea9 * I always carry a sweater in my bag. Right now it’s a nubby Banana Republic one in a sort of caramel color but I also love this gold Michael Kors pullover. 381bbd07ff1d17649468f0dcad378b381ea37fd8 *These leather ‘Athena’ sandals from Etienne Aigner could be my pricey update. They almost perfectly match my skin and look remarkably comfortable. dec077f647b3f6f7dd5a1cde74b078cdafe042a1 *If I finally get around to replacing my lost Scoop NYC stud earring, I’d get these Maykool skull ones and here’s a prettypink silk scarf from Ashore Ltd that could be my go-to headwrap. Hot mess can be ‘haute’ if you work it. ;-D ************************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Attends Origins Smarty Plants Event #Girlonthego

d978101be88944e5b720072d9ff3ea124a6715cd Thanks to the Origins ‘Modern Friction‘ exfoliator sample I got at Birchbox’s NYFW blogger lounge, my skin was glowing. Stila ‘Stay All Day’ liquid lipstick in ‘Fiery’, also from Birchbox. Last night I was fortunate enough to attend the Origins‘Smarty Plants’ event at the JIMMY (the James Hotel’s rooftop lounge). It was amazing. I finally got to wear my black turtleneck and that J. Crew skirt that I got thrifting. Oh, and I learned about the fact that there’s a global water crisis. c15a53f08ec548e4ae28b7b63de75716e17cd27e OPI nailpolish in Deutsche You Want me Baby (thanks towww.pinchme.com), my favorite faux snakeskin cuff, Kaspar jacket, Annn Taylor loft necklace, J. Crew tweed pencil skirt, Aerosoles faux alligator pumps. Mummy would be proud. Origins,a division of cosmetics giant Estee Lauder, used the event to raise awareness for charity:water , an organization that endeavors to provide every citizen of the world with clean, safe drinking water. September saw them pushing into India, and they’re also working in Africa and Central/South America. bbe19ddb67cfa7c67de3f560c718bc1d4f1de2da Jane Lauder and actress Emmy Rossum (Vera Wang’s niece!) at the Smarty Pants event, Jessica Stroup pitches for charity:water donations The stylish event was set against the backdrop of the JIMMY lounge‘s spectacular views of downtown NY. Orchids and botanicals were arranged on tables throughout the lounge, and the open bar flowed with glasses of prosecco and delicious mojitos. Gorgeous waitstaff passed trays of shrimp gazpacho, cones of jalapeno cheese fries, and Ritz cracker crab cakes. Tubes of the new Origins Smarty Plants cc cream(which I had tried at Birchbox lounge) were everywhere. 8eba6c9ddacd8fcb75745ae2a67cf323cbd9151e 14842b60e0eadf911fada811a3269f9b6d536c61 c73758dadd04252a034c796ee909282f1a4a1e03 d9e50e703d563a635f2d082b11075a0906ee2113

***********************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Goes To Cat Footwear Event And Has Moonshine (#Earthmover) #Girlonthego

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Oct 11, 2013 b1915cb036cc575daab9d4ee1bfca1e668e2c14d That’s me in the headwrap, at the Cat Footwear aw2013 show I was at the library working on a story for my NY Fashion and Trends Examiner column when I got a message that there was a fashion event going on in Brooklyn. Being me, not looking my best was no deterrent from saying yes. I have that confidence going for me. 7114740da687050f288ee184fb56b45288077007 Chris Onseung and Ashley Rudolph, Kings County Distillery spirit gift set, goodies! The event was held at the Kings County Distillery, a gorgeous building full of history. The shoes and boots were scattered around the room, so it was kind of like a fashion-themed easter egg hunt. 204a3c76c428f92d48401cb0d526a9c0328fdce1 142d49a74f9be513f7fab0d73ea8b8fc2f467220 The ‘Ashlyne‘, a sophisticated wedge style boot made for city streets. In additional to the usual catwalkers, Cat featured people they call ‘Earthmovers’, people who are working to make a difference in the world they live in. Like Alexi Panos and Tennille Armor- they started E.P.I.C, and are currently focusing on the clean water challenge. 87f4f4de4eed7f08e58099ca5306efb7db864c0c Alexi Panos in the ‘Marin’ boot while Tennile sports a cordovan red ‘Corrine’ style. We were also treated to a surprise performance by country singer Tyler Hilton, who looked gorgeous in Agave denimshirt and jeans, which all he models wore. He sang two songs, from his new cd ‘Forget the Storm’. 615f9629442694c2ddcb1a0a19df26d200954c71 Tyler Hilton with Danielle Zizak, Cat Footwear’s Vice President of Global Marketing On the trolley back (yes, there was a trolley just for us!) I got to sit next to the Ashley and Brett, who were both in the show. Now that’s fashion… 69357cfb748d43242ba8a8a9512b1ba678f225be *Runway photos by Peter Roessler Photography all others byFaith Bowman **********************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Wins A Social Media Contest And Gets To See The Beatles (Hardy Amies) #Girl On The Go

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Oct 28, 2013

cfa3a66a89ea1b4ea00c47f1c05d70ff1cc42931 I’m on the step and repeat! Thanks to the awesome Le’Anne Moreau of Deborah Hughes Inc. Last week I was randomly tweeting when I found out that I had won a contest to go hang out with the Esquire crowd for the Beatles on Film panel discussion at the Paley Center for media. I love random things like that. They keep life magical. c923575681f7e69529f032275479e7382cce05e8 The Basil Smash and some love treats, I loved this girl’s Carnaby Street look. We had delicious cocktails made with Tanqueray gin and there were trays of delicious hors d’oeuvres passed around. I had way too many devilled eggs, because they were so good. The gave away copies of Esquire, and Albert Maysles (who made Grey Gardens and brought us Little Edie) was holding court and having his photo taken. You know, typical Wednesday night. 53e39381e4b2ab620c37f95305bde7eb1ba01fb3 a37492e4e4febc0656bdc3ee90e5372a3482ee75 b78a7f5da435ec348529b20e3c8889ea120fb4ce The panel: photographer Henry Grossman, collector John McKewen, filmmaker Albert Maysles, and Beatles historian Mark Lewison. I love the Beatles, so this was amazing fun. The pane was lively, and they were so enthusiastic about the film clips and images, that we all felt like we had met John, Paul, George, and Ringo ourselves. When we left they gave us brown Bloomingdale’s bags with Beatles songbooks and Hardy Amies pocket squares. Sweet.

**********************************************************************************************************************

Sassy Ethnic Bohemian Attends The Women Helping Women Fundraising Luncheon And Meets Selita Ebanks.

by Sassy Ethnic Bohemian on Nov 21, 2013 98a0f7d89c1c8b84297bfd11c8a888106c1dc972 Eboni Gates, William Cummings and Bernt Heiberg, and Selita Ebanks It was one of those days where you have to pinch yourself, and then blink a few times to be believe your good fortune. Last week, I was invited to attend the Voss Foundation’s Fourth Annual Women Helping Women fundraising luncheon. Held at the gorgeous Dream Downtown hotel, the foundation recreated their online African Bazaar to raise money for wells in sub-saharan Africa. ee3d3a9f6ab40c358bbf10f9ec230acf5d94605b 629c17ac2262d044de29838d9b3e5dddf01256bd Guests were handed glasses of Solletico Prosecco as they wandered through the tables laden with beautifully produced goods from Liberia, Swaziland, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Kenya. f433749af7ea0185b2d1f51f682a438465eb2cce Kara Gerson, Executive Director of the Voss Foundation, Bonnie Young totebags. Selita Ebanks (the Women Helping Women honoree for 2012) was on hand to provide opening and closing remarks. Her rousing speech encouraged the audience to give, while gently poking fun of her own career modeling underwear for Victoria’s Secret. She wore a snowy white, wide-legged jumpsuit designed by Carlos Miele. 6e5b96c151a203e8efd214ec64e47327538a19a8 Yum: edamame ravioli, vegan wrap with root veggie chips, greek yogurt cheesecake. As guests ate, Kara addressed the struggle to find water in Africa: “Voss Foundation sees access to clean water, sanitation, and hygiene as a means to enable community-driven development in Sub-Saharan Africa. Our philosophy is to look at the Ripple Effect of clean water – to see the many ways it can impact a community when we work with partners and beneficiaries to maintain the projects for years after implementation, to ensure sustainability,” said Kara Gerson, Executive Director, Voss Foundation. “One drop of water expands in all directions – by building wells and sanitation facilities we help the community improve its collective health, hygiene, education, finances, security, and relieve women and children, especially, of the burden of walking miles a day to collect water.” e2c0cc8875920ce1f1a13df7678fedc775fbca7d Kara Geson, Deborah Hughes, Selita Ebanks Gate ‘Maya’ Haile Samuelsson, wife of chef Marcus Samuelsson, was designates as this year’s Women Helping Women Honoree. Although she couldn’t attend, the Vogue model’s efforts as founder of the Three Goats Foundation were roundly appreciated. Her foundation serves to give the people of Ethiopia the health services and development they so sorely need. To find out how to help, please go to www.thevossfoundation.org (All photos taken by Faith Bowman with the Fujifilm X-M1) ********************************************************************************************************************** As you can see, some of my favorite relationships started way back in that first year. I’m so lucky (no pun intended, lol!) to have been able to see and do so many wonderful things. It’s sad to lose Lucky Community, but I’m so very glad that I had a chance to be part of it. Long live sassy Ethnic Bohemian! xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

1 thought on “#TBT: Sassy Ethnic Bohemian says goodbye to Lucky Community”

Leave a Reply

