body image, Fashion, weight

2015 New Years’s resolution 2- getting that weight under control

So, lots of people are going on diets this week- some just because they ate an extra slice of ham last month. I, personally, have been packing it on since about June of last year so I’m overdue for a diet and exercise cure.

2009 to 2014

In 2009, I had a decent body. I didn’t think it was anything special, and to be honest I thought I had big thighs. 2012? Still doing ok. I was doing the gym thing then, trying to keep it toned up. I was running around a lot and that helped. Get to December 2014 and all hell has broken loose. I started a baking business in June, so tasting put some weight on. I finally had an apartment to myself so I could cook and eat to my heart’s content- and I wanted to eat A LOT. assesshedamage1

On Tuesday, a nice snowy day of course, I decided to have a photo shoot to remind me of what I looked like and make a decision to do something about it. I got up and threw on my Little Empire King tshirt from Street People Atelier ($38), a pair of Artistic Revolution in Time boyshorts ($12) and my Charlie boyfriend cut jeans from Dittos ($79). It was chilly in my apartment, so I grabbed my fave socks from Jacks 99 World.

I love when it snows, it makes everything so pretty.

assesshedamage2a
photo by Chase Southard
assesshedamage2
photo by Chase Southard

I got that guy to come over and shoot some photos, because nobody’s better at recording your flaws like an ex. I figured the best thing to do was to start by measuring my bigger parts. My thighs measure 23.5 inches- the size of some people’ waists. I’m only 5’4″ so that doesn’t work.

It also explains why I can’t get my leg into jeans that used to hang loose on me.

For the first time in my life, I am noticing cellulite and that has to go (or at least be minimized). I had gotten some Lipo Lotion from Measurable Difference ($69.99) and I have been using it since Monday night. You spread lotion on your skin, then massage it in with the vibrating massage head. Move the massager in circular movements for about 3 minutes, then rub in the rest of the lotion. I saw something happening on Wednseday, so I’m going to keep going.

BTW? That sleek red nail polish is Feeling Sexy from Probelle ($6). Because when everything falls apart, pretty nails can save your life.

assesshedamage3I’m also starting to cut down on my meals. I used to eat little meals all day and move around. Now I eat big meals and go to sleep, plus nibbling treat samples all the time. I’m trying to remember that feeling a little hungry isn’t the worst thing in the world.

Breakfast has been greek yogurt with cutup strawberries and a little honey, an example of lunch was some cut-up tomatoes and scallions in balsamic vinegar and olive oil. I made some jerk chicken breast, with black beans and rice. I think my portion was too big, but I’m working on it. I need to remember to add salads every so often as well.

One step at a time, so I’ll be adding exercise to my life as well. One step at a time.

Next up: New Year’s resolution 3- work the hair

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

5 thoughts on “2015 New Years’s resolution 2- getting that weight under control”

Leave a Reply

