Accessories, art, beauty, blogger, celebrities, eco friendly, ecofashion, event, Fashion, glamour, haircare, holiday winter 2014 shopping, makeup, media, party, photo shoot, promotion, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, shopping, skincare, winter

in which i go to #NanetteforOrigins launch party and meet Nanette Lepore

It has been an event bonanza around here. Right after I finished with Trollbeads it seemed like it was time to run out again. This time? It was the Holiday launch for Origins limited edition Nanette Lepore makeup bag- and a lot of Origins goodies.

nanette3We were all invite to the designers showroom in Mid-Town Manhattan to eat, drink, and make merry. The prevailing theme of the evening was inspired by the gypsy like environment  of the showroom, with prints everywhere, palms, and cushiony pillowed seats. Lapore’s penchant for exotic pattern and long history of sophisticated design was everywhere. And there was lots of prosecco.

nanette4

How awesome is it to get to wander around looking at the designer who dressed the First Lady and First Daughter of NY for their inauguration ceremony? Her penchant for prints was obvious in the samples on display, like this black, white, and yellow floral from her ss2015 collection.I loved this leafy floral chandelier, a delicately whimsical touch.

nanette1

Turned out I was twinsies with the striped button front blouse (above). I wore my Daisy Fuentes for Kohl’s cream striped tunic dress, perfect form spring- but also perfect for winter when layered under a chambray shirt and August Silk cardigan. I had my LL Bean Signature 3/4 leather belt in Guide Gold for my waist and a great paisley scarf that I found at a street table for $5. These black tights are $1 from Jack’s .99 World, and the shoes are Irenea boots from Cat Footwear.

This was the first time I wore my Lisa Hoffman Bling-on gold chain link bracelet with sparkling fragrance pendant (only available on HSN). You can see it danglin from my wrist in the photobooth pic.

nanette2

The guest of honor, so to speak, was the 100% recycled cotton bag festooned with an original Nanette Lepore pattern inspired by her world travels. Our mission was to stuff that little bag with as many Origins and Ojons products as we could. While drinking prosecco.

nanette6

An Origins executive actualy led me through the skincare buffet, but as well all know- I love me some Origins. Both of my skincare faves were there in plentiful supply: the Clear Improvement charcoal mask and Modern Friction natural dermabrasion exfoliator. There were also some suprises, like this Gin-Zing Brightening mascara, and the Ojon rare blend hair tamer, which was like a mascara for your hair.

You learn something new everyday.

After my tour was over, I went back and reloaded because you never know when you may need some extra Ginger Souffle Whipped Body Cream. um, for … gifting other people with! Yes.

nanette7

Then I hit the imaginary trip photo booth. The whole game was to outfit your pic so that it included everything you’d have in your Nanette Lepore travel bag when you jet off for India or Morocco, or japan. That was fun… and here’s the result:

nanette8

What’s in my Nanette for Origins bag? My Rozge Cosmeceuticals New York lipgloss, Origins and Ojon products, the phone of course, a pretty floral zip drive, and I threw in some Altoids mints- just in case you meet someone. And of course you need colored pencils to  sketch the scenery, and sunglasses to look mysteriously captivating.

nanette5

After that I was a little pooped from running to photobooths, and skincare shopping, and pretend traveling. So I sat down with my glass of prosecco and hailed every passing waiter so that I could enjoy savory treats like these. I love party food. It was all natural, and all tasty.  The first one involved sweet potatoes and labneh. The second one… they told me before I crunched it. next time I have to write the food down.

nanette9As I was circulating, I kept catching glimpses of Nanette lepore. First she was across the room, then she happened to be standing next to me and then, just before I left? I got to meet her. We talked about the spontaneous call to dress the incoming Mayor’s wife, Chirlaine McCray, which Nanette (cuz we are besties now) said came at the last minute and was a total surprise.

She expanded on how inspired she was by the prints and colors of the world beyond North America, and how hard it was to find the right inks to print on recycled cotton. nanette also spoke about her comitment to keeping manufacturing in New York- a wonderful thing to hear.Then I asked for a selfie with her, which she graciously allowed.

Not bad, right?

Don’t forget that the Nanette for Origins travel bag is actually free with any $65 purchase, and that they will acually throw in a travel-sized Drink Up hydrating lip balm.

Next up: Let’s take an events break for a shoe roundup!

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

