beauty, blogger, event, Fashion, glamour, haircare, party, promotion, shopping, skincare, spa, Style

in which I go to Simply Stylist’s #SSNY event and clean UP!

So, I met Simply Stylist a few years ago. In 2010 I was poking through the email inbox, as is my wont, and I got one from someone at Simply Stylist looking for a writeup. Of course I obliged. So when I saw that they were coming to New York, I was quick to reach out and ask to be on the guestlist- and they were kind enough to oblige.

simplystylisti

I got to attend the Cocktail Soiree, sponsored by Rack It Up, which was perfect. I love cocktails.

simplystylist1

It was a tad nippy so I layered up. Favorite velvet blazer, denim popover from Life is good over a discount store tank, and a $5 street table scarf twisted around my new nylon scarf from RePurposingNOLA. On the legs, a pair of true shape denim jeans from LL Bean and my Corinne boots from Cat Footwear. These boots are a year old, and I only had to resole them once, after some pretty heavy usage. My tortoiseshell Grafton frames from Glasses.com completed the look. I lined jus the bottom rim of my eyes with Xtreme Lashes Glideliner in Xtreme Black, for the fun of it.

I love the countrified city look, I cannot lie. Not everyone gets it, but whatever. They’re my clothes so I can do what I want.

simplystylist2

The Simply Stylist Fashion and Beauty Conference was an all day event that started with a networking brunch hosted by natural skincare brand derma e. After that, attendees broke into panels on blogging, style, and entrepreneurship. If you have any doubts about blogging empowering women to step out and create businesses of their own, drop them. After a day of listening to experts like Damsel in Dior’s Jacey Duprie and Joe Zee (who was interviewed by Catt Sadler) everyone was hyped to hang out and drink… Snacks were provided by Pretzel Crisps (they get around! I had some at the AMP3PR press preview a few months ago) and the drinks were bottomless. I had three. What? they were really good!

simplystylist3

At the gorgeous Park central Hotel, Simply Stylist had taken over the mezzanine to create a blogger’s wonderland. It was nothing but love. I met up with Katherine Cosmetics as founder  Katherine ‘Annie’ Finch demos her new lipglosses to crowd of pretty haired girls with gorgeous handbags. The free samples came in a gorgeous little lacy clutch/makeup purse.

simplystylist4

A complimentary hair bar was set up by Bed Head where guests of Simply Stylist got their blwout on courtesy of Bed Head by TIGI. Across from them, Jordache owned brand Dittos Jeans previewed their ss2015 denim collection and doled out jeans (yes people, FREE JEANS) to all and sundry. I got an amazing pair of distressed ‘Charlie’ borfriend cropped jeans sent to me, since they ran out at the event.  I saw the Priv team (remember them from the Befohr pre-NYFW event?).

simplystylist5

‘Building  a Business Through Social media’ speaker Michelle Madonna of That Madonna Girl  had a table set up with headbands, embellished sunglasses and jewelry and she was doing a brisk business by the looks of it. She offered a hands-on customer service style that was inspiring. I loved the pretty headbands, which were popping up all over the place by the end of the event.

simplystylist6

I cruised the Harper Hallam table which was filled with adorable trinkets. Founder Rebecca Hallam has created a wide range of jewelry that appeals to the edgy and the classic. From beaten brass greek goddess style cuffs to twisted oxidized silver rings inset with gems like amethysts. Faceted gemstones flickered under the flourescents every time I walked by, but their table was consistenly mobbed.

simplystylist7

Finally met the people from Derma e! I had gotten a sample of their Firming DMAE Moisturizer at the Beautypress Spotlight Day event, but this time they had a table set up and were giving away tubes of their Vitamin E Intensive Therapy hand Lotion. I got about four of them, because I’m like that. They were really sweet and spoke to me about the different products like the Scar Gel, and their Microdermabrasion Scrub.

simplystylist8

I fell madly in love with Dagne Dover. Madly. They were previewing their wallets, which had a breakaway panel so that you can carry it like a clutch or evening bag (there were detachable straps). I adored the tote, which had every pocket you could ever possibly need to organize your day and your life, stylishly.

simplystylist9

 

The style at the event was eclectic, edgy, and amazing. I loved these leather overalls.

simplystylist91

 

1. The most ladylike tattoo ever  2. The team behind the new StuffnStyle app  3. Makeup artist B. Cherisme makes a statement in black and white, with wood block earrings and a flared skater skirt.

simplystylist92

 

On the way out, I got a deceptively small pink bag that held… all of this. There was a full sized jar of Derma e Microdermabrasian Scrub, Rodial Super Acids X-treme After Party Scrub and Glamstick, a huge container of Catwalk Tigi Oatmeal & Honey Conditioner, a can of Zevia Natural Soda, and so much more. It was like two Christmases and a Birthday.

 

Next up:  The Trollbeads ss2015 Preview event (you’ll love this!)

 

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

 

1 thought on “in which I go to Simply Stylist’s #SSNY event and clean UP!”

Leave a Reply

