Accessories, beauty, Fashion, footwear, Style

august recap continued… deliveries! aw2014 goodies from Life is good, LL Bean and Shop Jacqueline Rose Jewelry

You know how much I love deliveries, and August was chock full of them. I met some amazing people at Life is good back in June, and loved them so much that I had to have some items from their fall merchandise.

lifeisgood1

First off, the box was amazingly well packed. No packing materials, just everything neatly folded in a box that held everything snugly. No waste. Which is what you’d expect from a company that donates 10% of its net proceeds to charities that help troubled kids.

I fell in love with this All Together Now crusher tshirt (the neon colors made me think of Warhol) and this supersoft and plush Women’s Terry Beach Hoodie, which I tried on at the event and begged for. there is nothing like good quality clothing. I know that these pieces are going to last forever.

lifeisgood2

lifeisgood3

Everything was so soft, so comfortable, and so well made! I asked for the sapphire blue Men’s Hoodie Tee because I loved the color and the orange contrast stitching and hoodie strings. The terry beach hoodie, goes perfectly with my new grey sweatpants and the Vintage Denim Popover works with skirts, jeans or leggings. My fave? The Novella Skirt in deepest plum with a contrasting grey kickpleat. I LOVE this skirt. I can pull it on and look cute in about ten seconds. Oh, and don’t forget the adorableness that is the slouchy floral knapsack… big enough for books, groceries, an extra outfit? I wore this knapsack and the Women’s Love Creamy Henley Tee to the DKNY MYNY event in August, with memorable results.

bean1

bean4

I had barely finished trying on my new Life is good stuff, LL Bean sent over a delicious box of treats. The venerable American retailer is actually a treasure trove of cool pieces that any fashion savvy city dweller would love to own. Case in point? This Freeport Field Jacket. It’s feather light, and so perfect for layering, has an adjustable waist, and a zippered pocket on both sides for phone and change purse.

These tumbled leather Lounger Boots are way cooler than Uggs and just as ridiculously luxurious. That’s lamb’s fur inside. So soft. And it has the added attraction of being waterproof, with a rugged sole stamped with a chain pattern for traction. And, like the boots, the Signature 3/4 belt in Golden Guide yellow leather is so soft, it’s like buttah.

bean2

The LL Bean True Shape 5 Pocket Jean in slim fit? Uh-mazing. They actually come to your real waist, which is more flattering that low-rise. The back pockets are nice and clean and sit right on your butt. I love these jeans- they’re stretchy and comfortable, but I stand a little straighter because of the waist and that makes  me look a tiny but slimmer. You can tuck a shirt into these, and not have it flapping every time you sit down. You don’t have to worry about your panties showing, either.

And they’re comfortable- did I say that?

bean3

Cotton/cashmere Birdseye sweater. Soft, comfy, and yet you can do a little styling with this (as you’ll see later on this blog). You can put a shirt underneath, wear a down vest in a bright red or orange with it. Wear it with sweatpants, skirts, jeans, and when the spring comes you can pair it with shorts.

jacquelinerose1

The last delivery, just in time for NYFW was from jewelry designer Jacqueline Ranieri of the ShopJacquelineRose website. I randomly dropped in on a #JewelryChat one day on twitter and Jacqueline contacted me later on asking to work with me. I was thrilled! her pieces are made in New York, and her path to Enlightenment collection is all about fostering inner peace and being conscious of the forces in the world that surround us. It’s jewelry that not only adorns, but heals.

Jacqueline not only donated her Eternal Flame stackable bracelet set for my MYNY/NYFW giveaway? She loaned me some great pieces to wear and style with for the blog- and let me keep a few for my own personal use. So sweet.

jacquelinerose2

I am deeply in love with the Ariel Charm Necklace (which I featured in my Dating Diary post last week). I got to wear the Illumination Hand Chain (a piece that actually corresponds with my birth sign) to NYFW, adding a little edge to my look. The Green Oasis bracelet has been on my arm almost permanently since I received it, balancing my solar plexus and heart chakras. The Black Buddha Mala for Prosperity is a symbol of abundance, power, and fortune and the little gilded horn in the pendant is for good luck.

Who doesn’t want that type of good energy when going to cut-throat fashion events?

Next up? Let’s go to NYFW! Photos and experiences from the Lincoln Center Tents and Nolcha Fashion Week.

xoxo, Faith/Sassy Ethnic Bohemian

Leave a Reply

