@influenstervox, Accessories, beauty, fragrance, Glasses, nail polish, Photography, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, Style, Summer

in which i got to the influenster/DKNY #MYNY perfume launch and photograph rita ora, shoot some streetstyle, and get a pretzel from dominique ansel

I’ve been working with the website influenster.com to review products since last year. This adventure started like so many others- I opened my email box and ‘pop’! I had an invitation to an event in NYC’s Madison Square Park.  Seems that DKNY was throwing a launch party to celebrate the introduction of their new perfume, MY NY. Not only were they going to be giving away free samples of the new perfume? But stars Rita Ora and Chrissy Teigen woere going to be on hand, and (much to my foodie delight) pastry star Dominique Ansel (he actually invented the cronut) was going to be at the launch giving every one a free heart-shaped pretzel. Did they have to ask me twice? 

C’mon. This is me we’re talking about!

MYNYevent1

I packed my new Life is good slouchy floral knapsack (more about this later when I finally finish recapping July and start talking about August properly) with all the neccessities: New York magazine fashion issue, Desigual laptop bag from NYFW with Asus netbook, and my new friend- Stuffy Hello Kitty McStuffins (more about him later- let’s not get ahead of ourselves, ok?). I decided on a look that I call ‘camp chic’. Green bucket hat, bought on Fulton street for $8, Life is good LOVE creamy shirttail henley over a $1 discount store tank, and the cute bag that I already mentioned.

I wore my Catfootwear Zosia sandals and painted my protruding toenails with Illamasqua Obsess nail varnish and Zoya Yana nail polish, using the second toe as my contrasting accent. My eyes are lined with butter LONDON WINK eye pencil in Union Jack Black, a creamy liner that even I can’t keep from looking amazing. My eyes really popped behind those Grafton frames from the glasses.com’s Kensington Road collection.

I was ready for a day that was sure to include wandering around in the sun trying to dodge photographers in order to get photos. I had no idea that my day would be, well, fun. 

MYNYevent2

MYNYevent3When I got there I immediately saw the Rita Ora festooned DKNY bus stop and headed straight over. Everywhere you looked there was someone handing out the red, heart shaped perfume samples or water with the #MYNY hashtag. I walked around shooting pics with my phone, just setting the mood to show off here on the blog, and then Rita Ora showed up.  

MYNYevent4 I casually drifted as close as I could and just held my phone still and shot whenever I saw an opening. One thing I learned early in photography school- just wait for your moment. People were flipping out, taking a million shots, trying to angle their camera phones, and missing out. I stood, aimed the phone, and just kept my eye on the screen and my finger on the shutter button. Every time I saw a break in the scrum around her I took a photo.

I didn’t get close ups, but you can see her cute Betsey Johnson-esque razor cut bob (wig?) and the trademark red lips. Her silver DKNY dress is one that I would definitely wear, just layering with it for fall/winter. I actually mention that in my Full Metal Jacket post, which is exclusively on Lucky Community. She wore it with silver platform sneakers. I would have liked to see a little accessorizing, but maybe they didn’t want to detract from the perfume. 

MYNYevent5One thing that I did differently was to actually approach people for streetstyle, instead of being anti-social and sneaky. For the first time I felt comfortable just walking up to people and asking their permission. I guess using the phone instead of a real camera takes the pressure off? Anyway, I saw really cool people, like blogger Sameda Coulson (in the tied front shirt and heart-shaped sunnies). Everyone had something special going on, from the cool schoolgirl of this floral shift from Zara with Chanel referencing phone case, to the crisply grown up lady with the gorgeous white dress adorned with geometric lines. Style! 

MYNYevent6I was actually getting ready to leave when I ran into Tami Periera of the blog  Ciao Bella 29. I was so not into standing on that line to get a pretzel! But instead, Tami pulled me into her little orbit and we ended up talking and bang! we were next to meet Dominique! I was so nervous, but I managed to get this portrait with my phone. Isn’t he adorable? And he even made a dipping sauce to go with the pretzel! That’s a real chef. AND he was out there all day handing out pretzels. He is my baking hero forever. 

MYNYevent7

 After getting my Dominique Ansel MYNY pretzel, I ended up getting my photo taken by the DKNY staff photographer. hazel, one of the lovely people interacting with the crowd that day (and she’s from Lincoln, Nebraska- so cool!)  was in the bus stop helping people like me download their free MYNY heart souvenir photos. See:MYNYevent8THIS IS MY NY!!!

Leave a Reply

