Fashion, Photography, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, Style, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Zig Zag (in Xilitla)

I was going to submit a fashion photo for the Weekly Photo Contest, but then I remembered that trip to Mexico… in 2008 I read a story about the sculpture garden, Las Pozas in Xilitla, Mexico. They said that the jungle was taking it over, and that it was falling into disrepair. Created by sculptor Edward James, it was a wonderland of twisting shapes, a thoroughly surrealist vision. My mission became clear- I HAD to go see it. I forced an ex-boyfriend into tagging along ( http://www.sheknows.com/living/articles/1023367/how-to-plan-a-safe-mexico-vacation) and I grabbed my Pentax K-1000, and went for it.

2872979930_68a81a8d52_b

No digital, all film- adventure! Even getting there was a zigzag- since I took a plane to Mexico City, then a plane to Tampico, then a bus to Xilitla, then a cab to Las Pozas

024600020246000302460005

 I mean, Cancun? cabo? Nah. I went in September, which is the Off Season. There was no one around but the natives of the area. And it was stunningly, heartbreakingly beautiful 02490014bw02490024

I even did a travel issue of my online zine, theMAGAZINE(ok) just so that I could write and show off my photos of Las Pozas:

creativeoutlet2 creativeoutlet5

Never stick to the straight and narrow. Head left when everyone goes right, and you’ll see things that are wonderful. 

2872155835_bdb2f44902_b 2872191641_2e97eb4fd6_b arturandixilitla

Leave a Reply

