beauty, Fashion, footwear, haircare, Lucky Community, makeup, NY Fashion and Trends Examiner, NY Fashion Blogger Project, Photography, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, Style, Summer

the first week of june! progress! starting a business, planning a shoot, deliveries… sassy’s summer starts for real.

So, yes- it’s July and things are chugging along nicely. However, the blog is back on the first week of June! Like tv re-runs, only a blog and it’s me.

let’s go back… back to before the Coney Island blogger shoot, back before the First Anniversary party, back in time to…the Sassy Zone! (ok, lame joke. forget it).

Onward! 

1. delivery6

This was my house during the first week of June. After I got the delivery of SILK New York clothing too late for my Apneet Kaur shoot, I plotted how to get a bunch of bloggers and shoot the clothes on them. That grew into requests for more  clothes, accessories, footwear, etc. I got deliveries from ParMana Designs, Hechizo, and Desigual. Also a slew of beachy bags from lifestyle retailer Life is good… I love PR people. Without them? I’m nothing. NOTHING. 

 

2. delivery4

I started messing with everything right away, playing with the bags to see which would go with what swimsuits, mentally matching bloggers to accessories… Here you can see the canvas Adventure Stowaway tote, Feelin Beachy ropehandled mini-tote, Palm Tree and Anchor dockside beach bags from Life is good (I love them, they donate 10% of their net profits to help at-risk kids. That’s awesome!). Along with the emerald green and black Dream Awake shoulder bag from ParMana Designs, I played with the Aztec Stripe crochet bikini from Anna Kosturova, the Mika high wasted bikini bottom from WET swimwear with matching Miranda convertible top (halter to bandeau), and the Leila athletic top and matching Anuhea bottom from Cami and Jax.

 

3. delivery5

The styling corner was getting scary, but I was too busy to really get excited. I still had more stuff to pick up…

4. pickup

I was paranoid about scheduling a Daisy Fuentes for Kohl’s delivery, so I went out and picked up my pulls myself. Ran into Manhattan (ok, I took the subway, but you know what I mean) and dragged home my spoils. Standouts for me were the chevron striped blue maxi dress, This amazingly bright raspberry colored striped burnout tshirt, and the alternating striped cream dress with pockets. I love this dress, actually. I wanted to keep it for myself!

5. swimtartewalk1

I still had to pick up swimwear from a company called Swimtarte, and I was excited because they were a new brand that I found on my own. They are located in a Brooklyn neighborhood near mine, so I decided to set out for a soothing walk. I live in a mostly residential area, so there are flowering plants and shady trees, and I make sure to walk down the prettiest blocks when I have a long stroll like this one. 

6. swimtartewalk3

I made sure to walk down Atlantic Avenue in Boerum Hill, lined with upscale boutiques for the fashion conscious. Check out Michelle New York, Girlcat, and Bijoutique– the clothing is gorgeously chic, and you can find unique jewelry and accessories.  

7. swimtartewalk2

I never found Swimtarte… also, I got lost and ended up walking for 4 hours- way longer than I intended. I emailed them to ask if they could possibly drop the suits off at my place, but they said they were too busy. So I ended up not working with them. 

chubbychubs1

So, in addition to plotting my first multi-blogger shoot and First Anniversary celebration? I was planning the launch of a lady business to keep me occupied and generate hands-on revenue. 

chubbychubs2

Ever since I gave up fast food and junk food and pretty much any pre-made foods, I have been baking like mad. I can’t just buy a slice of cake, I have to make a whole one if I get a craving. i can’t go buy cookies, so I mix up the dough and end up with enough for three dozen. Best way to stay sample sized (just in case any companies have stuff to give away- you want to be a standard size, just FYI) I had to start getting rid of my excess sweets. I gave some away, but that’s not as satisfying as selling them to strangers for cash money. 

chubbychubs3

So in the middle of emailing and texting with bloggers, and emailing with PR companies, and getting deliveries, and fetching samples I was baking and buying supplies for my little business. The day that I planned to start? It rained! But I did it anyway. 

chubbychubs4

I wore my rain slicker from NY Cares and my Corinne boots from Cat Footwear (no blog post is complete until I mention them, lol!) and went for it. When the rain got too heavy, I sat in the bus shelter. It wasn’t just stubbornness that made me do it. I had decided that I needed a non-fashion hobby, something that I did on my own just for me. This was my chance, and rain wasn’t going to stop me. 

chubbychubs5

Also, I made money! These are the first dollars that I earned for my cookies and pound blueberry pound cake. I’m really proud. I made something and I sold it and people said it was good. That rocked. 

chubbychubs6

the next day the sun was shining and I was right back out on the corner with my table. And some iced coffe with Califia Farms almond milk. And my Chuck-Chuck bracelet for luck. 

chubbychubs7

The last day before my shoot, I spent selling at Target First Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum. I went retro, hoping to impress new customers with my pink thrift store dress and Giverny floral painted hat. I defined my waist with a black leather belt from Ann Taylor and showed off my Fire Rose toenails in weavement sandals. I sold one bag of popcorn, but I had a nice time watching people and just enjoyed the summer breeze while I could. 

shoot1

shoot2

The next day I packed up all the stuff for my first day of shooting, and made treats for the girls. Now + Zen pr had given me bottles of Desigual perfume, so I actually had a goodie bag to giveaway to say ‘thank you’ to the bloggers for showing up. I think that niceness counts, even if people take that for granted. 

shoot3 

I didn’t want to get ‘fancy’ since I would be dragging a suitcase, and running all over the place. I wore my tattered light wash guess jeans, my (now cropped) Earthmover tshirt, a denim shirt, Desigual Fun perfume (why not!) and the Giverny floral painted hat from primadonna- since I was afraid to put it in the suitcase. I threw on two Desigual necklaces that had come with my Aume dress and Uno jacket from an earlier shoot with blogger Amy Vosejpka of Not Official. I had decided that all I wanted in life was this canvas Adventure Stowaway tote from Life is good. It has all these pockets and compartments, and I adored the grey/olive/orange color combination. 

shoot6

 This is me… on the train, exhausted- but ready. 

 

next up? Behind the scenes of my two day four blogger shoot at Coney Island! #staytuned!

 

1 thought on “the first week of june! progress! starting a business, planning a shoot, deliveries… sassy’s summer starts for real.”

Leave a Reply

