beauty, Fashion, footwear, Lucky Community, makeup, NY Fashion and Trends Examiner, NY Fashion Blogger Project, Photography, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, Style

second week of may, deliveries, DIY Turbans, Marc Jacobs, and more…

 May started turning into the most incredible month ever as I started getting deliveries at my apartment in East Flatbush. I was getting ready to go out when two deliveries came in, and then I had a cute little envelope in the mail. Bonanza!

1. thursdaydeliveries

I got a GLO teeth whitening system, 3 Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Brighening masks , some perfume samples from the Anick Goutal counter at Bergdorf’s, and two pairs of Cat Footwear sandals. Before we get all excited, these are products sent to me by PR companies to review and use for blog posts. It’s basically work. That said? WOO HOO!!!!!

2. diyturbans1

I was going to a blogger event that night, and funnily enough was using a baking soda exfoliating trick that I had read about it Real Simple magazine. Once I had gone through my skincare routine I applied the Makeup Forever Aquamatics waterproof eyeshadow pencil (in S60) that I got in my goodie bag at  The Makeup Show the week before. Finished off with a few sprays of my precious Roja Bergamot parfum sample from my Sniffapalooza fragrance bag in the fridge.

3. diyturbans2

The look was the usual simple affair- Bobbi Brown pot rouge in Rose and my fave Illamasqua Lily Rose gloss layered over OCC concealer  foundation on the lips. Illamasqua Shattered Star sparkly nail varnish in orange Marquise graces my nails. My improvised turban is my signature $5 scarf in black & white animal print, and I threw on a Calvin Klein leopard print knit shirtsleeved t-shirt. A black August Silk cardigan and Ann Taylor LOFT front pleated skirt completed the outfit. I absolutely had to war my brand new Weavement sandals from Cat Footwear. Who can pass up wearing brand new shoes?

5. diyturbans3

I had some time to kill before the event, and I ended up walking along the Highline. Back in the 90s, there was nothing this beautiful down by the piers. I got to Pier 59 studios and followed the signs directing me to the DIY Turbans blogger event, thrown by Fashion Fights Cancer. Founded by Ty Canty, the organization seeks to harness the internatinal power of fashion to alleviate the suffering cancer patients and promote research and cures

6. diyturbans4

I love going to Pier 59 for events. It just brings back memories of my internship there when I was a student at Parsons. When bloggers arrived, we were given turbans and headbands and directed towards tables full of sewing paraphernalia to embellish them. I picked out a headband and then started creating une belle epoque creation with tatty cream lace edging and I was going to sew a large turquoise beads with hanging pendant beads in the center. I sipped a glass of red wine, donated by Chateau Ste Michelle for the event.

7. diyturbans5

I loved the gorgeous multi-colored turban and white outfit with kelly green accessories. She turned out to be Kinna LeBlanc of the vintage blog Closet Jane. On sale at the event were huge totebags designed by Tracy Reeses specifically for Fashion Fights Cancer ($25). I sat with this lovely lady who quietly made this fabulous black on black turban with sparkling sequinned trim.

6. diyturbans6

8. amylucky

I ran into my great friend Amy Vosejpka of Not Official (remember? My NY Fashion Blogger Project subject for May?) We ended up hanging out at the same table, gossiping and sewing. You can see her turban here.

9. amylucky2

Even though she had been working and running around all day, Amy looked super glam in this oversized Tom Ford trench with simple flowing black silky pants, and one strap sandal, and a topknot held together with Fudge Urban Powder Styler.  We ended up hitting her favorite place, Forever 21, for a quick blogger shopping trip. I am more into thrifting for high-end bargains, but I did start falling in love with their bags.

91. amylucky3

While Amy sifted through every rack for chic jewelry and clothing, I hung around trying on bags. I kinda loved this schoolgirls satchel, I think it was $29. I liked the way it went with my borwn velvet blazer. It looked ‘smart’. very lady editor, the look that I love when I’m going out.

92. mjaw20143

The next night I suited up to go to the Marc Jacobs store on Mercer in Soho. I decided to go with my Desigual Uno spring coat, August Silk cardi, and Benetton little black dress. Accessories included my Daisy solid perfume pin/pendant that I won at the MJ Daisy Tweet Shop during NYFW.

93. mjaw20144

 Here’s the full length view at the Marc Jacobs meetup.

95. mjaw2014

 Basically, it was a chance to hang out at the store, take a look at the current ss2014 collection, sip Sofia wine and San Pellegrino water, eat delicious cheese with fruit and nuts, and drool over the aw2014 collection on the racks and on models around the store.

94. mjaw20142

 I saw SJ Berman from FashInNY ( Who was my subject for a NY Fashion Blogger Project shoot/interview in March) and Aileen from The Style Boro and we spent a few minutes talking about blogging. SJ showed off her ankle boots from Strawberry, only $29, but they look super expensive. In New York, you need to know how to play the high-low game and carry off your bargains with confidence.

96. mjaw20142

 This was my favorite piece of the night, partly because it was right next to this demented high-art Mr. Potato Head looking sculpture. I love Marc Jacobs bags.

2 thoughts on “second week of may, deliveries, DIY Turbans, Marc Jacobs, and more…”

Leave a Reply

