beauty, Fashion, footwear, haircare, Lucky Community, makeup, Sassy Ethnic Bohemian, Style

braving the cold of march (featuring rusk haircare)

 March is dragging along, and it’s cold in Brooklyn. I’m still wearing sweaters, but trying to work some color into the mix. The their day I had some errands to run, and I decided to work my lumberjack thing into a ladylike ensemble, because I hate being cold more than anything.

marchoutfit

I layered a warm flannel (from the Fashion Blogger’s Pop-Up Swap) under my sweater vest thing from Chico’s, held together with leather belt from Ann Taylor. I bright skirt with kickpleat adds the dash of cheer-up color I was looking for. Finish with opaque tights ($1 from Jacks .99 World) and black lace up oxfords.

sebmarch4

I started off with my Eugenia Kim inspired dark grey beanie, that protects my poor head from exploding from cold. With Shea Organics Rose Hips Black Soap facial wash and Plantscription Powerful Lifting Cream smoothing out my skin, I’m free to just use a little NYC HD trio eyeshadow in ‘Long Island Sands that I got in my influenster JollyVoxBox, plus the Rimmel Scandal Eyes Retro Glam mascara they just sent me (totes free! love it!). The lipgloss is Glosstone Pro from Mehron.

nyfwprods2

Under that little beanie I have my natural hair all braided down. Thanks to Rusk Haircare’s ‘putty‘ styling creme (as well as their wonderful Multi 12 in 1 Miracle Leave-i Treatment). I love having natural hair, and this product duo keeps my hair soft. The Shea Terra Organics, Mehron, and Rusk products were all given to me free at Nolcha Fashion Week.

marchoutfit2

I got the skirt at the Underground Thrift Store in Brooklyn (I volunteer there, but we don’t get a discount! 25% of the proceeds go to stop human trafficking, the rest is donated to Plymouth Church of the Piilgrims). I loved it from the start first because of the saturated color, then the rich fabric, and mostly for the innovative pocket design. I also got these bracelets and hoop earrings at UGTS. I got about 25 bangles for $1, and the brass snake bracelet was $2.

I’m looking forward to real Spring weather…I just got an amazing Ted Baker skirt in a floaty pleated fabric that I’m dying to wear!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

