Fashion

What I wore to NYFW aw2014 (the anti-cute statement)

IMG_20140203_170933

The first day of NYFW and I was more excited about rocking my borrowed Fujifilm HS50EXR than trying to get dressed up. I guess I should mention that massive snow dump that we called the Polar Vortex as well.  Being a famous procrastinator and weirdo, I had actually messed up my awesome Cat Footwear Corinne boots just when I needed them most, then slacked on getting shoe repair done. So Fashion Week came…  and my footwear was meh. Grr… whatever. Onward!

DSCF0203

So the first day I spent happily comfortable in my jeans and flannel, wearing some cheap Payless slipons and H&M striped socks that I’ve had for one million years. I had an amazing spot to shoot from, too. You can see the story here. But I didn’t shoot my whole outfit. Why bother?

The next show was Desigual at Lincoln Center, the big leagues! I upped my game a tiny bit, deciding that it wasn’t really that cold. Except I forgot to take my own photo.

IMG_20140206_161110_363

This is a shot of my Chuck- Chuck bracelet, and I wore my brown velvet blazer from the Pop-up Swap meetup, but I don’t remember what else.  I was too busy gathering streetstyle photos… like this one of Alice MacLaughlin:

alice4

How cute is she? And so happy fluffing up her crinoline. I loved her look and her joy at being where she was. You can see the rest of my streets style subjects (including Julia Lang of GeeksandFashion and SJ Berman of FashinNY) on Lucky Community.

The next thing on my agenda was the Marc Jacobs Daisy Tweet shop. It was Marc, so I pulled myself together (you know, just in case he showed up. I don’t have the biggest crush on him! no!). Also, I had friends coming with me so I had to represent myself accordingly. t worked out, because I got my photo taken and I may have been on Fox News!

meatMJDAISYCHAIN

DSCF0412

That’s me wearing my fave plaid dress over a turtleneck wrapped up in a textured cotton sweater vest from Chico’s and that gray velvet coat that I bought at a thrift store my first winter in NY. Me and Analiese (who I met when I was an intern at Janine Just Inc) both won matching Marc Jacobs Daisy pins! Read all about that here.

I had 3 days after that to catch my breath and post to Fashion Edits, and then I was back at Lincoln Center for the Art Institutes student showcase. I wore debuted my punk rock dowager look, influenced by Johnny Rotten, Miss Marple, and Cicely Tyson. It goes like this:

IMG_20140212_091357_688IMG_20140213_145119

IMG_20140213_144643

Ann Taylor tweed jacket, that stripey crocheted sweater that I wrote about, J Crew tweed skirt with metallic thread woven in, stripey socks from H&M (a kajillion years old), laceup oxfords from the Underground Thrift Store $6.  The Marc Jacobs Daisy pin that I won at the Tweet Shop. I think I looked perfect.

The next thing I wore was a comment on being tired. I had on the modcloth tshirt that my daughter gave me, my bright orange Madewell cardi, dove grey Cynthia Rowley slim cut slacks, and the embroidered pirate/Jimi Hendrix looking frock coat that I got from the Pop-Up Swap meetup.

IMG_20140211_115721

Turns out that Dries Van Noten did embroidered coats for ss2014 His are $2,00 and change and won’t be available til April. Mine? Pretty much free. I call that a win, don’t you?

Last Day, last event, last outfit-

IMG_20140213_184521

The bathroom selfie! A classic… This outfit was almost rude in it’s blatant ugliness. It’s back to the punk rock dowager! But I also went ‘dress over pants’. Just to be that way. My fave leopardprint cardi over my Kate Spade cocktail dress over my black turtleneck and the reappearance of the dove grey Cynthia Rowley slacks.

Let’s look closer…

DSCF3265

DSCF3266

DSCF3267

Yes, there I was up on the stage in the VIP journalists area at The Set NYC’s Fashion Week benefit… and NO ONE spoke to me. lol! That outfit was truly spectacular, but whatever. They don’t know. And by the time they find out, I’ll be in the pages of Vogues as the newest crazy fashion it girl.

6 thoughts on “What I wore to NYFW aw2014 (the anti-cute statement)”

      1. find young/new/independent designers to work with, google fashion showrooms, pr agencies, etc. you’ll be surprised how far you get! but most of all be picky, selective, and work your butt off. this is a great industry for women to realize their dreams- but you have to work.

Leave a Reply

