Fashion, makeup, Style

Lupita Nyong’o and the Christie doll

images images (1)

Although I haven’t seen 12 Years A Slave Yet (I can’t. I’m gonna wait for netflix or something and watch it alone- because I know I’m gonna cry and get angry),  I have been watching one of it’s stars, Lupita Nyong’o rise to the top of the red carpet lists. Her gorgeous dark-skinned beauty and natural hair stand out in a crowd. She is without doubt one of the brightest stars in Hollwood today.

images (4)

She reminds me of a doll that I had growing up, named Christie. Dark, cocoa brown skin  and a killer wardrobe made her my go to for long afternoons of pretend. She reminded me of myself, and my mom. I so loved her! She belied the myth that black girls aren’t pretty.

download

Nyongo’s success is a win for women who don’t see themselves in the blonde beauties like Wolf of Wall Street’s Margot Robey. Her confidence and grace, her effortless charm is the affirmation of everything that we’re told we can’t be. She’s the coolest girl in the world…just like Christie.

Leave a Reply

